Twitter and the News and Tomorrow is an Auspicious Day!!

Current Events

MissouriMatt came through with help and taught me how to style the plate

As some of you have seen, CNN has become enamored with Twitter, the microblogging web app in which you post messages up to 140 characters long to a list of followers. I returned home after work, put my things down, washed up, sat down and turned on the TV to see what’s been going on in the aftermath of Hurricane Ike.

I tuned in at 5:55 to see Don Lemon speaking with an iReporter who was recounting her night at home after making the decision to ride out the storm with her two young children in their home.

Pork Chops with Peppers, Roasted Tomatoes Stuffed with Ricotta and Corona Beans with Bacon and Parmesan

As soon as he hung up, he began reading Tweets on his Twitter account at Donlemoncnn in which he had received messages from viewers with comments on this woman’s decision to ride out the storm with her children and a general question or two about hurricanes, one of which was, “Who shoulders the cost of rescue during an event like this?”

In the past 2 weeks we have seen CNN become enamored with Twitter, beginning with Rick Sanchez. Not only does he send out Tweets with news info, he also solicits information. He spends a great deal of time reading incoming Tweets on his show. I have been a subscriber to cnnbrk since I registered with Twitter almost a year ago. cnnbrk is not affiliated with CNN, it is just the Twitter account of a programmer that coded a bot to rip CNN headlines and send them out via Twitter.

I don’t know how CNN feels about the cnnbrk account, but at this point, CNN seems to have “found Twitter” and are using it to help deliver the news.

I’m wondering how long before the other news organizations, TV, Radio and Print will begin to incorporate Social Networking sites such as Twitter and Plurk and Facebook and Myspace, and … well, the list goes on … to help them gather news in this interactive way? I think it will all evolve very quickly and we will soon find that it is commonplace.

Company for Dinner

Look, there's a crawl running at the bottom of the Justopia.com video! πŸ™‚

While I was broadcasting my dinner tonight it suddenly dawned on me that tomorrow marks 1 year since I began broadcasting on JTV! In a year I’ve broadcasted my dinner prep over 300 times. Viewers have come and gone. We’ve cooked together, cleaned together, have discussed countless subjects and have “met” one another via chat and we’ve begun to meet one another in person where our virtual world has met reality.

It’s difficult to believe I’ve been opening up my nights for a year. There is no other broadcaster who has been as consistently, constantly broadcasting as I have. And in this time, there are a few viewers that have remained as consistent and constant. I don’t want to begin naming people for fear of forgetting someone, but you know who you are and you are appreciated just as I appreciate each one of this blog’s readers.

What is most amazing about this anniversary is that tonight, for the first time, I was able to run a scroll at the bottom of the video showing the dinner menu using CamTwist! With ChannelZ’s (the creator of Justopia.com) help I attempted to use CamTwist last year, but it was always a problem — epic fail. Before I headed to work yesterday I became militant in my determination to get CamTwist up and running and worked on it until I got everything set up and working. I left the house for work with a food slideshow and a crawl running on the channel so that people would know I was unexpectedly working late and would not be broadcasting.

It takes me time, but I eventually get things together.

8 Responses

  1. Wow, one year of broadcasting is terrific, especially since you were rather reluctant to get in front of the camera. Congrats on your anniversary!

  2. Thanks Lorelei! I was reluctant,wasn’t I? πŸ˜‰

  3. Congrats on your 1 year anniversary — even tho I only JUST found out about all this (you knew that was coming!) Looking forward to many more deeliscious meals.

  4. One whole year of consistent broadcasting on Justin.tv……that in itself speaks VOLUMES! I have to hand it to you Justy…..I’ve always been amazed how you’ve cranked out your shows and working a full-time job at the same time and keeping a blog going…..you’re an incredible woman.

    Congrats on this 1 year anniversary!!!!
    ++spooky hugs++

  5. Hiya Spooks!

    Thank you. I’m not so sure how I’ve managed it all either. I guess it’s a one day at a time thing. I’m not so sure it’s about being incredible — more like CRAZY! πŸ™‚ LOL

  6. Congrats on 1 yr!

  7. Thanks Jaden! It’s hard to believe I’m still broadcasting so often. Thanks so much for “stopping by!”

Leave a Reply

