KeyIngredient.com September Contest Recipe

Peach-Apple Chutney Surprise

A little more than a week ago after I submitted my entry for the Whole Foods Budget Recipe Challenge, I mentioned that I’d been invited to submit a recipe to KeyIngredient.com for the September Key Ingredient Cook’s Kitchen (KICK) contest.

The key ingredients were to be Peaches or Apples and the recipe could be sweet or savory. Fried, boiled, broiled, or whatever method you’d like to use to cook up your peaches or apples. I thought about it. And thought about it some more.

What kept popping up were the usual mainstream dishes. Apple Pie. Peach Cobbler. Peach-Apple Crisp. Peach Jam. Apple Butter. And the list goes on, but none of this sounded prize-winning. I had to come up with something more unique. Something that had punch, something exciting.

And then I heard a great suggestion from a coworker — Chutney! Oh wow! Chutney! What a GREAT idea. And how simple and I already had a lot of the ingredients in the kitchen. Since I wasn’t working today I decided it would be test recipe day and I headed to my local Whole Foods for peaches and apples.

What resulted was the most DEElicious chutney I’ve eaten! No, really! I mean it! You’ve got to try this recipe. There are no hard and fast rules, with the exception of those that apply to canning the chutney for storage in your pantry if you so decide, but we’ll get into this in just a bit.

Watch the video for recipe overview

Apple-Peach Chutney

  • 2 large Granny Smith Apples, cored, peeled and diced
  • 4 Gala Apples, peeled and diced
  • 6 Peaches, peeled and halved, pits removed
  • 1 Ripe, yellow (preferable Mexican) Mango, peeled, seeded and diced
  • 2 cups Dried Apricots, diced
  • 1 cup prunes, diced
  • 1 Serano Chili – or to taste for heat, diced (seeds do not need to be removed)
  • 2 medium Onions, chopped
  • 3 cups Vinegar
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh Orange Juice
  • Zest and juice of 1 Lemon
  • 2 teaspoons ground cardamom or seeds of 8 cardamom pods
  • 1 tablespoon fresh ground Ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground Cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon Merken Chili spice from Chile (if available)
  • 1 tablespoon dry mustard
  • 2 tablespoons mustard seeds
  • 2 tablespoons Butter (if stove top grilling peaches)
  • 2 cups Granulated Sugar
  • 2 cups firmly packed Brown Sugar
  • 1 Star Anise

Grill peach halves on an outdoor grill or with butter in a stove-top grill pan until grill marks appear and peaches begin to soften. Remove to cutting board and roughly chop.

In a large, non reactive stock pot add all fruits; Apples, Peaches, Mangoes, Apricots, Prunes and Ginger and stir to combine. Add chopped Onion. Stir in Orange Juice, Vinegar, Lemon zest and Lemon juice. Bring to a boil. Sprinkle Mustard, Mustard seeds, Cardamom, Merken Chili and Cinnamon over the mixture and stir as the chutney begins to boil.

Boil lightly for 4 hours until thick and jam-like, adding one large Star Anise seed without breaking during the last 30 minutes.

Funnel into sterilized jars, seal with lids and rings and process according to manufacturer’s directions.

2 Responses

  1. I cannot get over the long list of ingredients for this chutney! Cute spoon too. Good luck with the contest!

  2. Yep, I went a little crazy. Most of these ingredients were in my kitchen. I only purchased the peaches and apples for it.

    That spoon is my baby spoon! I can’t believe it’s still around after 51 years, can you?!

Leave a Reply

