Justopian Visitors and a Brief Recipe

Jane and Emily

Em admitted to being a ham

I had visitors for dinner tonight. Real live people, in the flesh, to join me in cooking, dining, cleaning and just generally having fun. My sister, Jane, my niece, Emily and I made a simple, yet DEElicious dinner. Steak, Potatoes, Soy-Dipped Radishes and Steamed Broccoli.

There were questions about age, about why my sister’s hair is blonde and mine is brown, about what Emily is studying and more and on it went, but I think everyone, on both sides of the cameras/computers had a good time.

The radishes give off a lot of moisture when marinated in brown sugar and sea salt for 30 minutes

But it didn’t end there. Nope. We made a Summer Berry and Nectarine Galette. We began early and stayed with the broadcast until just about 10pm when we ran into the living room to turn on the TV to catch tonight’s convention coverage, albeit a bit late. I am usually so on top of this stuff, but this year, in my Justin.tv haze, I am like a television noob! I can’t seem to get the timing right.

No real worries though. There is always the internet, or CNN replay, so I will see what I missed while we were broadcasting this incredible and fun meal.


Yep, that’s Heinz ketchup you see on the table, but in front and in back of it are jars of home made Dulce de Tomate — or ketchup. Emily is our ketchup person, but Jane and I headed for the DEElicious home made stuff! You should try it some time and if you’d like a jar, just send mail to justopia@justopia.com and I’ll see what I can whip up in the next few weeks for a fair price.

And there are Justopian viewers that ask if I ever make anything healthy?!

You should make these potatoes — STAT! Red potatoes, Williams-Sonoma Grilling Salt and olive oil. Wedge the potatoes, put them on a baking pan, pour olive oil over and sprinkle salt on top. Mix it thoroughly and bake until crispy in a 400º oven. Red potatoes are more moist then white potatoes and do very well in the oven. These are better than French Fries and lower in fat and calories!


Jane put the galette together

It’s about the fruit


Emily is local now, so we will have to do this again, and I’m sure we will cook up some great food together.



Sorry! I didn’t get photos before we cut into it. But it was DEElicious, if a little on the tart side.

8 Responses

  1. WOW, WHAT A NICE MEAL AND ALL THE FIXINS LOOK SO SCRUMPTIOUS! GLAD YOU HAD A NICE TIME. I have a recipe for you for pork if ever you want to try something for dinner.

    Pork Tenderloin w/ Apricot Mustard
    This is best to do during the summer since you can find fresh apricots – enjoy!

    1/2 c. grainy mustard
    1/2 c. apricot jam
    1 garlic clove, pressed
    Pork Tenderloin (1 or 2 depends on how many you’re serving)….
    S&P
    1 lb. fresh apricots, quartered and pitted

    Preheat oven to 375.
    Whisk mustard, jam, and garlic together in a small bowl.
    Season pork with S&P.
    Spread half of mustard/jam mixture on pork and toss apricots in the remaining.
    Place tenderloin in a roasting pan and surround with apricots.
    Bake for ~35 minutes until thermometer registers 140.
    Remove tenderloin from oven and cover with tinfoil. Let rest for 5 minutes.
    Carve and serve!

    ENJOY

  2. I just LOVED being a real LIVE GUEST on JUSTOPIA!!!!!!! I wish I lived close by like my daughter Emily! Oh would we have fun. Emily really took to the camera – don’t you think? In fact she HOGGED the camera — a real ham!

    Well I’m back in NJ doing my thing with my boys. I’m the odd man out now in this household. No girl by my side to stick up for me! Oh well – Emily is right where she should be – back at school with all her friends.

  3. what happened to the recipe i left you? You deleted it?????
    Wow!!!

  4. Luuucy,

    The recipe looks great. I will have to make it soon. Right now I don’t have any pork in the fridge.

    Thanks for posting!

  5. It was fun, Jane. We’ll have to do it again soon! Thanks for coming.

  6. Luuucy,

    I am just now sitting down to check mail and the blog and to approve comments. It’s been 15.5 hours since I left the house for work this morning and after coming home, prepping, broadcasting, eating, cleaning up the kitchen and finally now sitting down to watch TV and to check on mail and the blog, I am seeing the comments left today.

    So no, I did not delete the recipe, but no comment is posted until I approve. I don’t delete comments unless they contain vulgar or obscene content which has happened a total of just a handful of times.

    On busy days like today, I just need a little time.

  7. Em looks a little bit like the Divine Miss M (Bette Midler). That was a fun show to watch.

  8. You’re right, Peekers, she does!

Leave a Reply

