Back to the Food and Tomorrow’s Justopia.com Visitor Reminder!

Cookies!

Rather than cooking dinner last night, I baked cookies. I forgot to bring my lunch to work with me, so I came home to a DEElicious dinner of the leftover slow cooked lamb shank, Israeli couscous and cauliflower with bread crumbs and decided that I’d make some Chocolate Dipped Macaroons. They are very easy and wow, did they come out great! I adapted the recipe from a Sunset Cookies cookbook which I picked up in 1984. I think this was the cookbook I used to go to for Oatmeal Lace cookies. Next up! πŸ™‚

These cookies would ship well and when I mentioned this, a few viewers asked me if they could place orders. For those of you that like to bake, try these. They are quick and easy. I made the first two batches into large cookies and scaled back for the finale.

I also didn’t leave well enough alone. I had a 1lb. bar of bittersweet Callebut chocolate that I purchased at WholeFoods a few months ago and it was time to use it before it bloomed. I made a chocolate ganache with MissouriMatt’s help once again. Recipe follows:

Coconut Macaroons

  • 4 egg whites
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3 cups lightly packed flaked coconut

In a large bowl of an electric mixer, beat egg whites until foamy; beat in salt, sugar, vanilla and flour. Add coconut and stir until well combined.

Drop batter by rounded teaspoonfuls onto well-greased baking sheets, spacing cookies about 1 inch apart. Bake in a 325ΒΊ oven for 20 – 25 minutes or until lightly browned. Let cool briefly on baking sheets, then let cool completely. Store in an airtight container. Makes about 3 dozen.

Ghocolate Ganache

  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 lb. dark or semisweet or bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract or paste

In a saucepan, heat milk until bubbles form around the sides of the pan and it begins to scald. Add the chopped chocolate and immediately remove from the heat. Slowly stir mixture to melt the chocolate. When smooth, add vanilla. You now have chocolate ganache, or frosting.

If you let it sit at room temperature for a while, it will thicken up. To return it to it’s more liquid state, place in a heat proof bowl and over a saucepan with water in it over heat, stirring until it has melted to the proper consistency to dip the cookies again.

You can dip the cookies as you like. As you see in the photos, I dipped some totally, while others were dipped just 1/2 way on the sides or top or bottom.

Enjoy!

Gordopia and EC will be joining me for dinner and dessert tomorrow night! I’d like to start an hour early so that we can be finished and watch the convention at 10pm Eastern. I’ll send out a few Tweets to remind people, but for those that don’t follow me on Twitter, make a note so that you don’t miss out on the fun and if you run into Justopia Cooks friends, please let them know.

4 Responses

  1. OHMYGOSH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! These are driving me wild! They look so good Justy!!! XXOO

  2. Told you you’d drool, Dara! They were DEEvinely DEElicious! I am addicted. It’s so darn dangerous! Waiting for my sis and niece to get here in about 12 hours to take them away from me! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for checking them out!

  3. I just had to have another look at these while I was coming to read today’s blog post — OHMYGOSH — day old they still look good! LOL

    XXOO

  4. LOL Dara. That’s funny. It might be the new best diet — virtual eating. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

