Contests and More Contests

Don’t Forget!

Mouth Watering Grilled Nectarine with Coconut-Cream, Maple Syrup Sauce

Mouth Watering Grilled Nectarine with Coconut-Cream, Maple Syrup Sauce

Remember, instead of week 5 of the Name That Exotic Food contest at Justopia.com this week, we are having the finish the Tenten story contest. If you haven’t taken pen to paper, or fingers to keyboard, you have just 21-ish hours left to get your creativity going to finish up the great story that Peekers started for us last week. In case you’ve forgotten, you can find the story you have to work with here in the Extra! Extra! Read (and Write) All About It! blog post from last Thursday.

Peekers got us off to a running start, let’s not let the story end there! Send submissions to justopia@justopia.com before the show tomorrow night so that I can read them on air after dinner.

Whole Foods

Tortilla Sandwich and Grilled Corn Salad

Tortilla Sandwich and Grilled Corn Salad

It’s been so nice making virtual friends with so many people since the blog and broadcast began well over a year ago and it’s heartwarming to have people interested in helping get the word out there and helping me gain more visibility.

Tonight, two people wanted to alert me to a contest that Whole Foods is holding for food bloggers. There is some confusion with the link to the contest info, but if you check out their Twitter feed (behind the link above) you can read all about it.

I don’t know what recipe I am going to submit for this contest, but I am going to give it a lot of thought and we’ll try it out on the broadcast a few times to make sure I get the ingredients and method down pat, as well as some great photos for the blog.

It’s funny, I second guessed myself for a little while after reading the rules. It clearly states that this contest is for established food bloggers. Basically, food bloggers that didn’t just set up shop in the last month. I stopped and thought … well, Justopia really is about Justin.tv and the antics of the viewers and broadcasters that latched onto this new technology and media. But Wait! It is NOT! It may have started that way and continued with long, drawn out ramblings about the network and the guys that started it, but in time the food photos took over and once Justopia Cooks launched and I began broadcasting my nightly dinners, it became a very active food blog with a mention of the JTV network to give the Justopia name some meaning.

But with the invitation from FoodBuzz.com to become a Featured Publisher (which I have yet to finalize) and recipes and food photos dominating the posts each night, it has become apparent that this is a food blog.

So I think I will make a trip to the good Whole Foods in Fairfax in the next two days to get the Whole Foods inspiration and work up a recipe that I can win with! Just like the Justin.tv Broadcaster Highlight Awards, I want to win this one too!

Any ideas are welcome. I received a few in my mailbox tonight. Feel free to send ideas for what I should put together to.

Recipe

Tonight’s dinner was quickly thrown together and dessert was the star. It’s easy to make and with summer fruit like nectarines at their peak, this is one way to liven up your meal. I am going to try it next with grilled pineapple. DEElicious for sure!

  • 1 very fresh, ripe nectarine halved
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup, divided

Place the nectarine halves, flesh side down on a grill or on top of the stove on a grill pan. This can also be done under a broiler. Don ‘t touch them until they have caramelized a bit on the bottom. When you turn them, you will see the beautiful grill marks, about 5 minutes. Let them color on the flip side.

Meanwhile, whisk the coconut milk and heavy cream in a bowl until just slightly thickened. Add 1.5 tablespoons of the maple syrup to the coconut-cream mixture and set aside.

When the nectarine halves are done, remove to a plate and drizzle the remaining .5 tablespoon of maple syrup on top of each half.

You can make a puddle of the coconut-cream mixture on the plate, or as in my photos above, spoon it right on top. Either way, it’s an incredible taste and texture treat and I’ve got all kinds of versions of this floating around in my head now.

Think home made granola. Think Belgium Waffles. Think crêpes! And that’s just for starters! Mmmm…DEElicious!

Enjoy!

2 Responses

  1. I’m drooling. 😛

  2. The nectarine was incredible, Kirsten.

Leave a Reply

