Time to Pack Up the Moving Van and a Different Sunday Dinner

Moving

No! I am not moving. I have big moving news though. I spent most of the day working on a move of the blog with help from a JTV fan and Justopia viewer. For all the wacked weirdness on JTV, there are so many wonderful people I’ve had the opportunity to come in contact with and as in today’s offer of help, there are so many people that are willing to assist.

I’ve been wanting to get Living the Justopian Life off of WordPress.com so that I could do more with it and I finally took a deep breath and began the process this morning. I’ve got it installed on my own domain and am working on moving the posts from WordPress (right here) to that address. Once that is complete, we will have a launch party via Justopia.com and we’ll give out some nice prizes. 🙂

I’ll keep you posted on our progress and thanks for hanging in with me!

Bagels and Lox


I went to the supermarket late in the day. I thought it would be a good way to avoid the crowds at Wegman’s. I had no idea what I was going to make for dinner and was wandering around the aisles dropping things in the cart by rote when it hit me.

As I dropped a half dozen salt bagels and a couple of bialy’s in a bag I looked over at the smoked fish counter and decided bagels and lox were what I wanted. The selection of lox in Virginia is lacking, but there was a selection of kippered salmon that looked absolutely DEElicious!

To go with the meal I made cole slaw and potato salad which are both going to go great with tomorrow’s lunch of corned beef, pastrami and chopped liver which I made before the broadcast began and I have to say it is the best batch of chopped liver I’ve ever made.

The problem is that no one watching, and there were only a few again tonight, seemed to like the thought of chopped liver. I am looking forward to it though.

I decided on a bagel — not toasted. The scallion cream cheese was not processed, packaged. It was made in the Wegman’s deli and was smooth and creamy.

For dessert, halva. A sweet made of tahini — sesame paste. It’s very rich and extremely sweet and I can only eat a few bites. In Buenos Aires, all the supermarkets carried halva and not just a little. Usually there was a whole case devoted to the confection. I never quite figured out why other than the city used to boast the 3rd largest Jewish community in the world.

But if that’s the answer, why is it impossible to find bagels and smoked fish and all the wonderful trimmings? I found bagels in a bakery a few blocks from my apartment, but they were like bread that was shaped into a donut shape and had no real resemblance to the texture of a true bagel. While I complain about the lack of good bagels in Northern Virginia, they are far better than that.

Leave a Reply

