A Kitchen Disaster

What is that?!

What is that?!

I’ll tell you what it’s not. It’s not this week’s Name that Exotic Food! Nope. And it’s not charcoal. I can’t have a charcoal fire up here, remember? Speaking of this week’s Name that Exotic Food contest, we will hold the contest on Friday when I am next broadcasting.

What you’re looking at is the result of hearing the timer go off, but not remembering what it had been set to remind me of and finding that moving on and ignoring the alarm was a bad idea. Because what you’re looking at is a pan of burned slices of olive bread. Yeppers … burned almost beyond recognition. I was attempting to make more bread crumbs, but what I ended up with was a supply of charcoal! Not good, but not the end of the world since I had made enough bread crumbs for tonight’s meal.

Chicken Picatta, Israeli Couscous and Eggplant-Mozzarella Sandwiches

Chicken Picatta, Israeli Couscous and Eggplant-Mozzarella Sandwiches

I took pesto I had made last week and put into ice cube trays a night like tonight when I needed something and couldn’t quite put my finger on what it was. I’d seen a photo of a dish in the Curtis Stone book of Eggplant-Mozzarella sandwiches and decided I had to make that tonight. I was missing a few ingredients, but necessity is the mother of invention so I took a look in the pantry and the fridge and freezer and came up with necessary items to make a DEElicious dinner. I had that loaf of bread so I toasted it up and put it in the food processor to make bread crumbs. I did not have basil, but I had a wonderful batch of home made pesto from last week waiting for me in the freezer so I cut up some cherry tomatoes and added them to the pesto and cooked them down enough to be able to easily remove the skins. There’s nothing worse than chomping into a tomato sauce and coming up with one of those tough rolled up pieces of tomato skin.

The eggplant turned out very crunchy, as you can see and the sauce was a perfect accompaniment. Dinner was a success.

Desert on the other hand — not so much. The ice cream custard I made last night which accidentally got water in it didn’t work into the right texture in the ice cream maker tonight. I suspected that would happen, but I thought it was no loss if I attempted to make it work. It wasn’t the worst thing ever, the taste was good, but the texture did not thrill me.

I know people were freaked out about olive oil gelato last night, but I promise you, it’s worth trying! It’s DEElicious, and even better when the texture is as it should be.

I’m working the next two nights so I won’t be broadcasting and I think I will take tomorrow night off from blogging as well. A much needed writing break.

6 Responses

  1. Not like I’m the bestest speller out there…but I thought DESSERT was spelled D-E-S-S-E-R-T? No? I always see it spelled on your blog as desert. Since I’m new to your blog – hahahaha – I’m guessing this is an insiders joke that I’m only just a part of!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 2 days of no JUSTOPIA – so what are you dreaming up to cook for Friday?

  2. You’re correct! But it’s not a joke. It’s one of those words I never get right! Dessert or Desert. I wonder what kind of dessert they have in he desert? Those double consonants throw me! Thanks for pointing it out!!

    I don’t know what I will cook on Friday yet. I have beef ribs and shrimp and chicken in the freezer, but I don’t know what I am going to wake up feeling like for dinner.

    It’s a mystery.

  3. OH please make Giada’s short rib sauce for the tagliatelli she makes with the beef ribs. I’ve seen the recipe but haven’t tried it as we are trying not to each beef in this house. I’m getting to be an expert at home made pastas too! Also Emily and Russell enjoy PHILLY CHEESE steaks sandwiches which they told me are made with beef that’s looks like it’s pulled. They know all the ingredients for that recipe if you are interested. Just a few suggestions for ya!

  4. That sounds good, Jane! I don’t know if I have short ribs or just beef ribs. The regular beef ribs are not as meaty, so we’ll have to see.

  5. This looks awfully like something i would cook without the fancy ingredients….

  6. Krystyl,

    Are you talking about the beautifully, albeit mistakenly, blackened toast? 🙂

Leave a Reply

