What Do I Do Now??!!

Panic Time!!

Lime-Nectarine-Mascarpone-Ginger Snap Tart

Lime-Nectarine-Mascarpone-Ginger Snap Tart

Wow! My heart skipped a beat this morning and then it sank. I was surfing around, checking my blog stats, reading mail and just generally idling the morning away when I had a real shock. One of today’s comments alerted me to the fact that one of the contestant’s on the season finale of The Next Food Network Star tomorrow night will be presenting his show online! He’ll be cooking for an online audience. At least that’s the way I understand it.

Ho-ly cow! It’s Justopia in a Next Food Network Star’s clothing. He pitched the idea of having viewers from around the country submit recipes and he will cook them. Then Gordon Elliott, the Food Network personality and producer asks Adam how he feels about doing a live online broadcast. Adam loves the idea, Gordon seems to love the idea and he makes one comment that sticks out for me. He said, “What about this? You talk to people live on the web? But once you get cooking you have to pay respect to the food and they’ll watch you because what you do is good.”

I know how important this is. I’ve been doing it for over 10 months now almost daily. I cook. I read the chat. I respond to the chat. I react to what people are saying and asking, and sometimes demanding. I dart around the kitchen working hard to ensure that the meal is going to turn out well, not just because I want the viewers to enjoy what I’ve made, at least visually, but because I am going to have to eat it for dinner! I get one chance each night.

Rib Eye Steak, Lettuce Wedge with Blue Cheese Dressing, Cottage Fries and Creamed Green Goodness

Rib Eye Steak, Lettuce Wedge with Blue Cheese Dressing, Cottage Fries and Creamed Green Goodness

It’s live .TV and there are no retakes. There is no “Cut!” and a return to do it over. Nope, if I burn the broccoli to an inedible point, I have no vegetable for dinner. If I overcook the steak, it’s either chewing my way through a well done steak or foraging for something else for dinner. It’s not a produced show where alternates are waiting in the wings (or the fridge) to be taken out and replaced for the mistakes.

Nope! If I make a mistake, my dinner and my pride are affected. I suspect I’ll be wringing my hands while I am watching this finale tomorrow night, but if nothing else, maybe it will give me ideas I can put in place to make my broadcasts more enjoyable for both viewers and me.

Of course, all this conflicts with my excitement for tomorrow night’s season premier of Mad Men, but I have the DVR all set up and ready to record both shows tomorrow, so I can watch TNFNS and then watch Mad Men.

A Thing of Beauty

The first food blog I ever read was the Smitten Kitchen. It was my sister that told me about this blog and I was immediately hooked. She’d made a Chocolate Babka and it looked spectacular! I was hooked on food blogs at that moment. My sister came through again when I was finishing up my broadcast and talking about what to make for dinner tonight. She suggested a Steakhouse Dinner. I thought it was a great idea and for desert she wanted me to make the Nectarine Tart the Smitten Kitchen posted photos and the recipe for on Tuesday. A perfect summer desert and one that I had two incredibly large and DEEliciously ripe nectarines for!!

I made it my own though. I had a batch of Key Lime Curd from the store — Williams-Sonoma — that I wanted to use up. The link is to the Meyer Lemon Curd page. I think we must be discontinuing the Lime curd because it is nowhere to be found on the site. Too bad. The lemon curd is just as good, although not quite as tart.

But I digress. So I made the tart shell. It looked beautiful and just like the Smitten Kitchen, I opted not to put the candied ginger in. It’s not that I don’t like it. As a matter of fact, I used it in a desert just the other day, but I didn’t want it to overpower the fruit. I also had cherries that I needed to use before they were beyond saving, so I used my handy-dandy cherry pitter with splatter guard (what a life saver!) and made quick work of prepping those sweet cherries.

After the tart was done, I spread about 1.5 cups of the curd on the warm shell and put it back in the oven for 5 minutes. I let it cool, but not quite completely and then carefully spread the cheese filling on top.

I could not quite get the filling to the edges because of the curd, but it did not matter. I could tell it was going to be one DEElicious and lovely desert!

And that it was! The viewers were drooling — virtually — and I was enjoying. It was a wonderful meal with great company!

So, we’re at the end of another wrap up of another Justopia Cooks evening and I am left wondering how to get Justopia.com the visibility it deserves before Adam turns my world upside down tomorrow night with his online cooking finale and all the foodies of the world find JTV or one of the other live broadcasting sites to air their culinary talents on?! I’m kinda depressed so I think I’ll head to bed and try to work it out in my dreams.


6 Responses

  1. Oh this was a very sad post, but the photos and the food left me droooooooooooooooooling. It’s now breakfast time and I still want to eat steak and potatoes and a tart! WHAT-AM-I-GONNA-DO?

  2. Oh no! I just re-read this post and want a piece of the tart, but I took it to work yesterday, so there is none here for me. Thank goodness! Like I need another piece of tart. NOT!

  3. I know I was SLOBBERING all over myself that night lol !

    So when’s the next show 😀
    another 30 min MEALS WITH JUSTY!

    ~ Christopher ~

    http://cmarlow480.blogspot.com/

  4. Christopher,

    We’ll be in the Justopian kitchen tonight cooking up some Huevos Rancheros and Olive Oil Ice Cream at 9pm EDT!

  5. Yummmm…
    That tart looked so yummy. (:

  6. […] I was worried that it would be so great that the network would be clamoring to make it a show and … well, you can read about my fears in Saturday’s post right here in What Do I Do Now??!! […]

Leave a Reply

