Post Cake. Or post head rolling. Or post revolution. And an Appropriate Recipe

Bastille Day

I didn’t mention Bastille Day last night when I posted the blog about Joe’s upcoming guest appearance on Justopia.com and Justin.tv where Joe will broadcast on his channel, Justin.tv/joeiniraq. I had something in mind, but thought it better to give his visit full attention and not dilute it with talk of the French Revolution, guillotines, dissidents, bastille-storming, and the pardoning of petty offenders.

Féte de la Fédération

One thing that does relate to Justopian life is the feast that concluded the official celebration. It’s said to have lasted 4 days. That’s FOUR days of eating, dancing, drinking, and general celebrating! I did some looking around for Bastille Day recipes, and this link has too many to count. I don’t know that there is any kind of theme like we have for our Independence Day with the whole backyard barbecue experience, but it’s worth a look.

Many people think the tango was created in France, but it was not. I took this shot in Buenos Aires

Last year I did a whole Revolution-themed post on Bastille Day and I thought I’d repost it here so that those of you that haven’t been reading Living the Justopian Life for a year can take a look back at how things were a year ago in the world of Justin.tv. Just what was I up to before I began the Justopia Cooks broadcasting journey? In those days I used to make a point of recording the blog posts for those that didn’t want to wade through the thousands of words I’d spew out onto my keyboard into the early morning hours. It’s clear I was rather ummm, snarky? I had a real chip on my shoulder about something and I think you can hear in the Bastille Day post some residual post traumatic stress from the AOL layoff I’d been a victim of a few months prior. I still had some healing to do and it clearly came out each night in my blog posts. Yikes! I’m glad I’m over that! 🙂

Moving on

In a belated Bastille Day celebration kinda gesture, I thought I’d post this recipe. It is a Williams-Sonoma recipe that we’ve made in the store a few times and has been met with oohs and aahs, and yes, I like it too! 🙂

Poulet Niçoise

Prepared in the style of Nice, in southern France, this one-pot chicken dish combines favorite ingredients of the region, including fresh tarragon, yellow squash and dry-cured black olives. We’re going to make this on the broadcast tomorrow — Wednesday evening at 9pm EDT. Come join us, won’t you an be sure to come back to the blog tomorrow for photos of the completed dish!

Ingredients:

  • 1 chicken, about 3 lb., cut into serving pieces
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 yellow squash, about 1 1/2 lb. total, quartered and sliced 1/4 inch thick
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 3 Tbs. chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 3 tsp. chopped fresh tarragon
  • 5 plum tomatoes, seeded and quartered
  • 1/4 cup dry-cured black olives, pitted
  • 1 1/4 cups chicken stock

Directions:

Season the chicken with salt and pepper. In a 5 1/2-quart Dutch oven over medium-high heat, warm the olive oil. Add the chicken and brown on all sides, about 7 minutes total. Transfer to a plate.

Reduce the heat to medium, add the onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 7 minutes. Add the garlic and cook for 2 minutes more. Add the squash, wine, 2 Tbs. of the parsley and 2 tsp. of the tarragon. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the squash is soft but not browned, about 5 minutes.

Return the chicken to the pan and add the tomatoes, olives and stock. Bring to a gentle simmer, then reduce the heat to low. Cover and simmer until the chicken is cooked through, 25 to 30 minutes. Stir in the remaining 1 Tbs. parsley and 1 tsp. tarragon. Serve immediately. Serves 4.

Bon appetit!

One Response

  1. […] of onions and garlic and wine and parsley and tarragon and … well, you get the picture. I put the recipe in yesterday’s blog post. It turned out […]

Leave a Reply

