Info and a Couple of Recipes

Viewer Count Info

Long after I finished broadcasting my playlists were showing on the JTV home page

We’ve talked about this before, but after seeing a blurb on a blog about “faked viewer counts” I thought it was worth another visit.

So, it goes like this — there are rooms with lots of viewers at one time. Most of the rooms with very large viewer counts are those broadcasting professional sports or first run movies or something you wouldn’t want your child watching, but on those occasions when a broadcaster is put into the Featured box on the Justin.tv welcome screen the viewer count can go very high.

I saw almost 500 people in my channel a couple of weeks ago. I was not faking viewers. There were no Justopia fans hanging out opening multiple browser windows or tabs. It was just the luck of the draw. JTV decided to put me in the featured broadcaster spot and anyone coming to Justin.tv landed in my channel. They were transient viewers. The same thing happened tonight. I was doing nothing special, but I noticed that suddenly there were people that were very much the anthesis of a regular Justopia.com viewer. They were making rude comments, or asking inane questions or or typing nonsensical lines of text. I booted those that were vulgar or downright rude, but the others came and went without much more than a roll of my eyes and a snarky comment or two.

I think most of those that came in that night, like tonight, were headed to a sports channel and were taken aback when they saw a middle aged woman cooking away in her kitchen, chatting with viewers, getting dinner ready to put on the table. One or two stuck around, and we even had a nice conversation in Spanish.

Tonight Victorence even told me my Spanish was good! I suspect he wasn’t listening very well, because my Spanish is kindergarten level at best, but I was flattered nonetheless!

Anyway, when a blogger makes a statement that a broadcaster is faking viewers, it would behoove him/her to take a quick jaunt out to the Justin.tv welcome screen to see if perhaps that broadcaster is in the top 1 – 3 featured broadcaster slots. It’s also possible for this to happen when a broadcaster has made it to the channel bar they may attract viewers that are looking for soccer or basketball or a viewing of Hancock or some other movie or professional sports broadcast.

No matter the cause, I am not sure that faking viewer counts is prolific like it once was or that it matters. Who cares?

Food, Food and More Food


Tonight we made Sicilan Pasta with Shrimp & Almond Cream, a Williams-Sonoma recipe which can be found on the Williams-Sonoma.com site.

It’s a cream sauce with no cream added!

It’s a light, DEElicious dish, perfect for summer.

And we had a Caesar Salad

Another Recipe

Meggie asked me to post the recipe for the Soy Dipped radishes I’ve made a couple of times. I got the recipe from the Kylie Kwong, Simple Chinese Cooking book.

  • 6 red radishes, trimmed and cut into 1/4 inch slices
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons sea salt

Dressing:

  • 1 tablespoon light soy
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon chili oil

Place radishes in a bowl and sprinkle with sugar and salt. Combine well using your hands, then set aside for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, to make the dressing, place soy sauce, sugar, sesame oil and chili oil in a small bowl and stir to combine.

Drain reserved radishes and, using your hands, gently squeeze away any excess liquid. Place radishes in a serving bowl and drizzle with dressing.

6 Responses

  1. Fake counts or no fake counts, we still think you are one best we ahve ever had the pleasure to veiw. Thanks for many recipes but most of all for the time you take for us lurkers watching.

  2. Thanks for the recipe. More recipes!

    I’ve never liked radishes, but I may give this a try.

  3. Thank you Dezining! Glad you’re still happy hanging around Justopia. 🙂

  4. Fabian, I bet you’re gonna like it. It’s important not to miss the first step — letting them sit in the salt and sugar mixture for a little while draws out the moisture and is a great base for the dressing. Let me know what you think. Radishes are so inexpensive and they look so appealing.

    I am going to have do a better job of including recipes.

  5. Im glad you put that on your blog! I knew thats why some get really high counts and it amazes me that people try and trash talk them as having fake viewers.

  6. Hi Scott,

    Glad you stopped by to read and to comment. Not many read this and I’d imagine those that trash talk are not included in the readership Living the Justopian Life does get, but I wanted to clarify once again for those that do keep up. I was not being trashed, but I thought it worthwhile to at least attempt to explain how things work with the Featured Broadcaster feature at JTV.

    “See” you in the kitchen!

Leave a Reply

