Epic Fail Dinner! Some Shrimpsicles and A Shot at LiveVideo

Trust me, Not Good!

I finished the broadcast and have to say that tonight’s meal goes down as the worst meal I’ve made on camera. Well, it was actually one of the worst meals I’ve ever made! I was going to cook a 6th recipe from the book I am cooking through, but when it came time to add the tomatoes I took the container from the fridge, opened it and was met with white fuzz! YES! Something in the Justopian kitchen was moldy! I only opened those tomatoes a few days ago which leads me to believe I introduced something mold-inducing when I put the tomatoes in there. Ugh!

The problem was that I had onions, garlic and ground been cooking in a pan and was on my way to Cuban Beef Picadillo, but now had to come up with something different. MissouriMatt to the rescue. He suggested ketchup and/or tomato paste with water. I remember when I was married, in the early days, my husband would make spaghetti sauce this way. What did we know? We were young 20 somethings. Anything that we made was good and an accomplishment.

Tonight however, it did not sound appetizing, but I went forward with it. I had pretty much OD’d on the Lemongrass Shrimp or Shrimpsicles I made earlier so I wasn’t exactly famished. I added kidney beans, vinegar, Merkin, the chili spice from Chile, Rooster Sauce, and worsteshire sauce and I topped it with cheese. Now, I am not saying it was inedible, but it surely didn’t excite me. I ate what I could and moved on. I didn’t even make a vegetable

Shrimp, Green Onions, Cilantro, Red Jalapeño Peppers, Pepper Jelly ground to a paste with panko crumbs on the outside and pan friend = Shrimpsicles!

Oh wait. We turned back the clock to the Reagan era and decided that ketchup really is a vegetable, so it was al good. Well, not really, but it was passable.

The paste is formed around a piece of fresh lemongrass

Executive Producer

After I got done I sat down and had a Skype conversation with Krystyl. She was heading over to LiveVideo to test it out and she said that I was going to be her Executive Producer for a show about nothing. Yaay! I finally get a lofty title and have to do nothing for it and realize no compensation for my efforts. Hmm… I’m like one of the cool kids. NOT!

Like a shrimp ball on a stick and then it’s put in the fridge for 30 minutes to firm up a bit for the pan

After about 15 minutes I think we both decided we’d had enough and that was that. There were a number of unknowns in the room and a few had cameras. I was a bit scared. One guy was drinking Rolling Rock and seemed to be happy. When he broke into some rap I was a little dumbfounded. I guess it was the Rolling Rock singing.

Like other JTV broadcasters, the people at LiveVideo courted me for a few weeks, but something about it, like Stickam, just did not appeal to me. I just don’t like the idea that anyone with a camera and sound can broadcast in your channel. There is nothing stopping something creepy from happening.

I am happy to stay with Justopia.com and JTV, thank you very much. But Krystyl, thank you for giving me the chance at producing a non-show. 🙂 We’ll have to do it again sometime soon.

2 Responses

  1. This post made me laugh! Thanks for sharing a blooper–we all have them!

  2. Hola Rebecca!

    Thanks for stopping by and for commenting. I am much more confident about tonight’s meal. Another simple weeknight main course, but I am going to sauté Corona beans in home made breadcrumbs again and an ensalada completa and maybe Meyer Lime bars for desert!

Leave a Reply

