To Cook Through or Not to Cook Through?

Obsession – and We’re Not Talking Perfume People!

This is the chicken I took out of the pot after 3 hours of steeping in a white “Master Broth” according to Kylie Kwong’s recipe

So. We know I have a compulsive, rather obsessive personality. There is no disputing that. I’d be a liar if I even attempted to say otherwise and this is what makes this decision so difficult. So I’m going to let you help me make the decision.

Here’s the deal. There is a food blogging phenomenon going on. It’s called Cook Through Blogging and this is how it works — a blogger chooses a cookbook and works her or his way through it, in a specified time frame, or not. As the Wall Street Journal reported recently, some have chosen tombs like Julie Powell’s valiant effort at cooking her way through Julia Child’s “Mastering the Art of French Cooking.” As the story notes, this cook book has no pictures. One blogger, Carol Blymire, decided to work her way through the Thomas Keller’s “French Laundry Cookbook” and that meant obtaining a pig’s head and splitting it and … well, I didn’t write the article nor the blog post, so you can have a look and get all the details for yourselves. I just wanted to point these things out so that you could get an idea of the commitment needed for Cook Through Blogging.

I got the idea this afternoon at work when I was taking a perusal through the sale table, well tower, really, of books on offer and picked up the Kylie Kwong book that I wrote about the other night. I thought it might be fun to cook through that book seeing how I was going to come home tonight and make one or two of the recipes in there tonight which would end up being a total of 3 – 4 of the book’s recipes in the most recent 2 nights of Justopia Cooks broadcasts.

Stuffed Mushrooms, Fried Rice and Cucumber and Radish Salad

And then I thought … hmmm … what shall we call this? Justopia Cooks All the Way, on Air? Nah! Terrible. Horrible. Barely “typable.” There’s got to be a better name, and before I commit to cooking all the recipes from a book, I’ve got to find just the right one! And should I put a time frame on it? What if I choose a huge one? How many years would I commit to? It’s too much to think about tonight. I’ll have to give this the time and consideration it warrants before diving in.

Soccer — No Mas

Euro Cup 2008 is now over. It looks like Spain was the winner. What will this mean for JTV? Of course, soccer is never really over, is it? And with just a few short weeks before the 2008 football training camp season to open in the US, at least for the Washington Redskins, there will be little time for a lull on the field at JTV and the rebroadcasting of professional sports. Now that people have caught on to the ability to broadcast television and seeing what kind of draw the Euro Cup had, I’d imagine we will be seeing a whole lot of US football channels popping up as the season comes around. It will be interesting to see how it plays out.

Leave a Reply

