A Summer Meal and a Trixie_Higgins Dinner Broadcast Treat

No Broadcast, but a DEElicious Meal Nonetheless

I thought I’d photograph tonight’s meal, even though I didn’t broadcast it. I wanted to show you that even though I had no company for dinner, I still treated myself to a DEElicious meal. And I do mean DEElicious! It only took about 45 minutes to put together and most of that time was spent pan grilling the vegetables.


Get your grill pan nice and hot and add just a bit of extra virgin olive oil to help in the browning process and to add moisture.




If the pan is hot enough, you will end up with beautifully marked veggies

Let the eggplant cook long enough so that it’s tender and sweet rather than tough and bitter

The zucchini and onions need less time

Once you remove the veggies, the veal chop can go right into the hot pan

Sear it to lock in the flavor and moisture

I grilled up a few cherry tomatoes to add color and a bit of sweetness to the finished plate


This salt is incredibly aromatic. It has bits of very expensive — to the tune of $45 for 0.9 ounces for a truffle, $28 for this small jar seems very reasonable. It’s filled with lots of bits and pieces of black truffles and salt

Truffles with pasta is a treat!

The plated meal – Grilled Vegetables, Grilled Veal Chop and Pasta with Truffles & Salt, Cream and Parmesano Reggiano

I put a dollop of home made ketchup or From Argentina with Love’s recipe for Dulce de Tomate on the table to sweeten up the plate


The Clean Plate Club — once again!

Trixie Higgins and a meal that’s difficult to put in words

Once I finished my dinner and cleaned up the kitchen I hunkered down with the Mac and tuned into JTV. Krystyl was broadcasting so I headed in and while we were waiting for her to take care of some household chores viewers were telling me all about Trixie Higgins’ dinner broadcast last night. I missed it because I was working, but I headed into her archives to see the show.

And what a show it was. Trixie was all decked out in her finest wig and a beautiful black (slimming) outfit working her magic in the kitchen with the following menu:

  • Hamburger Helper Stroganoff
  • Canned Corn
  • Toast with Margarine

And for desert …

  • Canned Peaches in Heavy Syrup

The interesting thing about this meal was the combination of foods, most of which was comprised of carbohydrates with a bit of protein thrown in for good measure. I was enthralled by Trixie’s ability to wield a spatula around a pan with a frozen block of ground beef and the way she stirred the canned corn for 45 minutes with a metal spoon in a metal pan — well, that was just a sound that was music to my ears.

When you watch the clip, be sure to listen for her references to Williams-Sonoma and watch as she expertly shoots photos of the meal in action and after she plates it up. Also notice how The Captain’s plate is the only thing that’s green on the menu.

Trixie! Woman! I think you deserve a gold star. You must have spent a lot of time watching my broadcasts to have come up with such skill in the kitchen and to have put together such an incredible meal. I’m proud of you and think you would surely be a formidable foe in a future Iron Chef Style Justopia.com cook off!

2 Responses

  1. Hello!

    This all looks super tasty…keep up the great work! By the way, thanks for adding me to your blogroll. Do you mind calling it World Foodie Guide instead? Many thanks…

    Helen Yuet Ling

  2. Oh my gosh, I’m sorry! The change has been made. Thanks for stopping by and for taking the time to comment!

    Justy

Leave a Reply

