We’ve Graduated!! and a HUGE JTV Blog Milestone

Mascots and Mensches and a Great Education

Peter the Anteater

I’m wondering, what image does an anteater bring to mind when sitting at a basketball game cheering on the home team? Does one think of power and fear when you look at this mascot with it’s long snout shaped in such a fashion to be better able to suck up ants? I’m also wondering what the students in the class of 1965 that voted Peter the Anteater in as school mascot were thinking, or is it what they were doing when 56% of them voted the animal in?

But that’s not important. Students have rallied around Peter for decades and as you can see here, he is dressed appropriately for the day in his cap, gown and honors scarf. What could be better than an intelligent eater of ants?

Dude and the Scientist. No matter what you call them, they are still menches!

Approximately 600 students graduated from the School of Humanities today. When I saw this scene, just as I did with the Scientist’s graduation, I cried. I don’t know why. I suppose it has something to do with my own mortality. With two boys having graduated college now, I suppose I was silently thinking — OMG! I am now officially old. My boys are no longer in school, being watched after by some other entity.

And then I remembered. The Scientist is still in grad school and he’s got another year and a half before he walks and … he’s considering doctoral work. We may still get a Doctor in the family!

A sea of mortar boards


Seriously, you didn’t think I’d let a good meal go by without photographing it, did you?


Tomorrow morning I head home. A quick turn around for an important occasion, but it was great to see my guys.

Three Hundred and Sixty-Five = a Year

When I began writing this blog I was focused and specific. As time passed, I branched out my musings and began writing about food and the Justopia.cooks broadcast along with bits and pieces about Justin.tv. I remember that after the first few nights I became obsessed about writing nightly. I had this unfounded feeling that if I didn’t keep it up nightly, readers would not stick around or would not return.

Well, tonight marks 365 Living the Justopian Life blog posts. I began publishing on May 2, 2007 and since then have written nearly every night. That’s a lot of words, a lot of thoughts that spent time banging around in my brain waiting to spill themselves out onto the keyboard. In that year there have been 61,500 views and 1019 comments. On the busiest day, 487 people viewed the blog. It contains 582,916 words and 3039 photos. The blog has made Justin and his team unhappy at times not only with what was written, but with me, it’s author. I haven’t heard, but I suspect it may have, on occasion made Justin and the team smile or shake their heads or possibly, on those nights when I gave praise, perhaps made them feel good about their efforts.

Some of the statistics are simply staggering.

For me, I am happy that Justin Kan, Michael Seibel, Kyle Vogt and Emmett Shear decided to create this network — it’s given me something to write about during a period in which I apparently needed something to give me an outlet to spend hours writing copious copy about a product that only one person I have spoken with or that I met or knew has ever heard of.

I’m still waiting for Justin.tv — JTV — to become something that people know about, something that is not met with a cock of the head and a confused, glazed over look when I try to explain this life I’ve been writing about and living for a little over a year.

I’m waiting to not feel that I’m not so out of the mainstream.Β  Is it going to happen?


9 Responses

  1. Congrats on 365! Wow, that’s amazing determination to write as often as you have. But Congratulations many times more on those beautiful boys of yours … who are really men! Those pictures of the three of you are more exciting than all the beautiful pictures you have posted from around the world. Good job Mom!!

  2. Thanks Gemini! I considered titling the post — Gushing Mom and Graduation. I’ve been fairly low key about what I post about the guys, but I just could not help myself this time. πŸ™‚

  3. 365 posts!!! That is so amazing and wonderful! Thanks so much for all the time you have spent giving us something fun and intelligent to read. It really is appreciated. And I agree with Gemini, two beautiful men! They both have your smile.
    Thanks again Justy!

  4. Thanks Lorelei! They are beautiful men, aren’t they?

  5. And I thought Temple’s Owl was bad. At least Owls are wise and somebody drew a pretty scarey looking owl for our sports stuff.
    An anteater, however, wouldn’t scare me.

  6. Congratulations on 365 posts !!!!
    It has been fun reading you telling it like it is.

    On a side note didn’t number one son choose the name Syrrus when he was in the chat room way back in the day.

  7. Yep, you’re correct on the Syrrus name, but … I think he rather enjoys being called the Scientist. πŸ˜‰

  8. Nice pictures of you and your handsome sons! You must be so proud!
    Sumdanc

  9. Thanks Sumdance, I sure am! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

