More of the Same

Uncle!

I don’t know about you, but I am just a wee bit over the tech troubles at JTV. When I attempted to get in today I was met with these types of error messages. At other times, when I was successful at getting in, it was only after an excruciatingly long time to get in.

I didn’t really care too much about what was on, I was just curious to see what the experience would be like once I experienced problems. I wanted to see if it was possible to get in and watch a channel at all. It was, but not without frustration and discontent.

In order to read the messages if you didn’t see them for yourself today, you’ll have to click on the image to see it in it’s original and legible size. Nothing very interesting really, but the stark white page with bold black text made it clear I wouldn’t be watching anything on JTV at that moment.

Ribs!

I read a post over at The Smittenkitchen yesterday when I got home from work and it just so turned out that I had defrosted ribs to make for dinner last night so it was kismet that she posted an article about dry-rubbed ribs. I took one look at the succlent looking beauties and decided I HAD to do something similar with mine.

I got up, dragged myself into the kitchen and proceeded to put together a dry rub of my own. I didn’t use the recipe, hmmm… I didn’t take long enough to see if she’d posted one. I just wanted to get into the kitchen and start creating.

Wow! They were A-MAAAY-ZING!! I’d have to say that these ribs were the very best ones I’ve ever made in my life.

It was simple. I didn’t measure anything. I simply mixed together:

  • Brown Sugar
  • Paprika
  • Merken (Chilean Chili Spice)
  • Freshly ground Black Pepper
  • Sea Salt
  • Cumin
  • Powdered Ginger
  • Powdered Garlic

Then I rubbed both sides and the ends of the ribs and let them sit while I prepped the rest of the food for the broadcast.

I cooked the ribs on the grill out on the balcony for about 1 hour and what came off that grill was something you’d expect to get in Texas. Aside from the taste, the really fabulous part of these ribs was that they were in the case that Harris Teeter has been using for some great deals. A rack of huge beef ribs, enough for 3 meals was under $6!!

Yes, ladies and gentlemen and ribs craved citizens, that is less than $2 for a meal. Add a couple of vegetable kabobs and some pasta to that meal and you’ve got yourself some fine dining for no more than about $5.

Now, in these tough times, stretching the dollar and coming away with some fine eats the likes of this meal brings a genuine smile to my face.

Leave a Reply

