Another Holiday, Another Meal

What’s She Cooking Up Today?

I have looked at the jars of Corona Beans on the shelves of “the store” for months and finally decided to purchase one the other day. I looked for recipes and the one that sounded the most DEElicious was at the FoodTV site. It’s a Tyler Florence recipe. I like what he cooks so I decided to make this to go with my Grilled Hickory Smoked Chicken and the Roasted Corn Salad I was preparing. I liked the idea of dredging the beans in flour and getting a nice crispy coating on them along with crispy pancetta and it DID turn out to be DEElicious! Very easy to make, this is a side dish that even alleged “bean-haters” are sure to enjoy.

I hate to say it, but Corona Beans are basically white lima beans. Ahhh! Kids, kids, kids! Don’t go running away from the kitchen. These do not taste like your grandma’s lima beans. Well, they don’t if you didn’t like your grandma’s lima beans. Tonight we are transforming this once so pedestrian dish into an Italian delicacy you should no forego trying.


Plump and white and packed with good nutrients



Sage Leaves ready to be dusted in flour and put into the pan with pancetta


Wow! What a dinner. I know I only have a small electric grill, but it flared again tonight, so it ended up tasting like it was cooked on a wood or gas grill. I soaked some hickory chips, put them in aluminum foil and kept it open at the top, so there was a bit of a smoky flavor too which made it DEElicious! See how beautifully golden the chicken is?

And then there were the beans. Wow! I am going to make that again, for sure!

The crunch of the pancetta and the crispy sage and beans made a wonderful accompaniment to dinner.

The roasted corn salad rounded out the meal beautifully. It was another healthy meal without a lot of fats or sugar. Perfecto!

The recipe for the Corona Beans is beneath the link to the left.

Grilled Corn Salad

1 ear of corn, roasted on the grill

1 1/2 cups of the following vegetables, diced

  • Cucumber
  • Tomatoes
  • Onions
  • Melon (or any fruit you like and that is in season — we used fresh cherries tonight)
  • 1/3 cup fresh cilantro
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • juice of 1 lemon or lime
  • juice of 1/2 orange
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • salt and pepper to taste

Place the vegetables in a salad bowl. Put the juices in a bowl. While slowly drizzling the oilve oil into the juices, whisk constantly, adding honey the salt and pepper to taste, and pour over salad.

Summertime Sunsets

For those of you that were around last spring and summer when I launched this blog, you will remember how obsessed I became with the spectacular sunsets. Well, this year is shaping up to be no different in the beauty in the sky department and I just can’t seem to resist shooting the fireball as it sets. I am not quite together yet, so tonight’s shots are missing the clarity a tripod would have given the shots, but it’s a good start.

I’ve done no post-shot editing on these photos

2 Responses

  1. Hi Justopia,

    Amazing sunset pics… thanks for posting them! As always, I love your blog, thanks for all the work.

  2. Hi Lorelei,

    Thanks for stopping in and for the comments. I hope you had a nice holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

