I Was a Canning Machine! and a Very Kind Gesture

Working Through It

I’ve had apple butter. I’ve had pumpkin butter. I’ve had Almond butter. But I’ve never had strawberry butter! Can’t wait to try it.

When I have things I need to work through, things that weigh heavily on my mind, I usually turn to the creative, the right side of my brain.

A big food mill helps get the job done

I have worked through lots of problems these past 12 months by writing and this blog is a big tell in terms of how much I’ve needed to work through issues.

A strawberry huller helps with a big job like this

Today I decided to work through my angst in the kitchen. I made jars of Hot Pepper Jelly and jars of Strawberry Butter. I’ve never made the butter before and when I poured it into the jars it looked rather runny, but I will give it time.

My new canning pot. It would work well for a crab or lobster boil as well — inexpensive and large

The pepper jelly looked outstanding. Beautifully red and from the tastes I got of it I can confirm — it’s DEElicious! Next? Marinara sauce! FTW! I can’t wait. I will get to it either on the weekend or next week. I am going to need a new house, because I am totally out of room now!

Cedar Plank Grilled Salmon, Grilled Corn on the Cob and Salad

I have something important I am working on before I go to bed tonight, so I won’t be able to write, but I did take photos of my creations and of my incredibly DEElicious dinner!

Krystyl Creates

During the broadcast tonight, Krystyl sent me a Skype message and uploaded a new Justopia banner for me! Check it out! I just need to figure out how to get it up on Justopia and the JTV pages. Pretty cool, right? Doesn’t the hair look kind of like mine? A little bit?

Thank you Krystyl!

5 Responses

  1. I like the new banner ALOT
    Sumdanc

  2. hey justy
    back at home and computer after about a month at dad’s in Va.
    2 quick things:
    strawberry jam, etc.:
    never forget, that part of the “flavor”, that cannot be, “skimped on”, is the feeling of being in a large strawberry patch, feeling the wind and sun, while, touching tasting and smelling, in all its splendor and wounder; so you can remember it next winter when you open a jar. TOTALLY sensuous!
    …from old hippie, wood nymph, hillbilly, fairy, traditions of running nude through the forest and fields in spring.
    but i know you are busy!

    2. old blue fish joke:
    take large blue fish, nail to wood plank, let age 2 days
    remove fish from board, discard: eat wood
    ..back when “oily” blues were not “prized”

    take care, and “rest if you can”
    sleep debt, adds up, and i can tell: “you b running”

    great banner!
    bb

  3. Yeah, it does look like you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I hope you’re doing well and that your feeling better about the current situation.

    Are you broadcasting tonight?

  4. Hiya BB,

    Thanks for the humor! The funniest part of the cedar plant salmon was that I asked everyone that was watching to remind me to get the plank and spatula and stuff from the balcony before I ended the show and when I got up this morning and opened the balcony door to check the temperature, there it all was! LOL I am surprised the enormous crow I saw on the other balcony didn’t fly over and have at it. Ewwwwwww

  5. Hey Kirsten,

    I just got home from work. Tonight was my late night this week, so no show. I’ll be on tomorrow and think I will grill something again. I am STARVING! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

