Mother’s Day Cake Sans Children

Making Mom’s Day Fun Long Distance

A beautiful bundt cake using the Williams-Sonoma Mocha Chip cake mix and the Swirl bundt cake pan – both make it an absolute breeze to whip up this stunning dessert!

It’s another Mother’s Day and my boys are far away, but while I was baking a Mother’s Day cake on Justopia.com tonight, they both called. The viewers had to take a back seat this time, but we got to talk and catch up with each other. By the time I was done, the cake was ready to come out of the oven and just like those sweet boys of mine, the cake was a masterpiece, a work of art!

\

I muted the broadcast and the boys and I chatted away. I should have had them call on Skype and we could have made it a 3 way conference call. Sheesh, what was I thinking? I suppose I wasn’t.

I am going to keep this post short, but thought I’d post photos of the cake, fresh out of the oven.


A viewer has been asking me to bake a cake and I just did not feel like going to the market for flour, so I picked up a Bundt Cake mix at the store before coming home from work tonight and whipped it up on the broadcast. It is the Mocha Chip mix and I can’t wait to dive into it. I don’t think I will make a glaze. I like the sharp edges of the cake. It has an architectural look to it.

Beautiful, no?

I think I’ll take it to work tomorrow, although if the rain, wind and cold keep up like this that won’t be happening. I have a great Wilton domed cake carrier, but it’s just not worth the trouble in this horrendous weather.

4 Responses

  1. That looks so good. I am so hungry!

  2. Hey Pc!

    It was so good, but best of all it looked beautiful! πŸ™‚ I was very pleased with it. Now … we just got a recipe card in for that pan and the incredible cinnamon bun mix we just got into the store. We made a batch of them in bun form yesterday and I have to say, they were to — die — for! I almost came home with a box, but yeah … like I NEED that in my body? Uhhh… NOOOO! πŸ™‚ I am sure I won’t be able to resist for long though.

    I am so weak!

  3. Your bundt cake is inspiration for my mom’s birthday present. I’m buying her a Williams-Sonoma bundt cake pan and baking her a cake from the double lemon cake mix. Too bad they don’t sell the swirl model at the store.

  4. Oh! How much time do you have? You can order it online at Williams-Sonoma dot com. It’s results in such a beautiful cake. In any event, I am sure you will make a great one and I do want to see photos! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

