A Tossed Salad of Memories and a Surprise Trip South

More Yesterday Than Today

The beautiful sunset season is upon us in the DC area

I was reading the comments (all 2 of them) from Saturday’s blog post this morning when a Philippine memory related to Auntie Anne’s hit me. I’d think the memory would have been sparked when I was making or eating the pretzels Saturday afternoon. Oh well, who knows what makes the brain work the way it does.

Kirsten commented that Auntie Anne’s first store was in Lancaster, Pennsylvania and that she went to school with Anne’s children, nieces and nephews and for some strange reason as I was commenting back and writing how I love being welcomed by the smell of Auntie Anne’s pretzels in the mall I suddenly remembered having the same experience at the Glorietta Mall in Manila when I lived there.

We made Chicken with Red Wine and Mushrooms

I quickly remembered just how welcoming the aroma of fresh baked, slightly sweet, nothing like NY pretzels, Auntie Anne’s had in making me feel for a moment that I was not 10,000 miles from home in the sprawling halls of consumerism that is mall shopping in Manila.

Fifty Something?

And a DEElicious Caesar Salad

The next thing that reminded me of time gone by came about when I was watching television tonight. I haven’t spent much time tuning into anything on broadcast television other than the random Barefoot Contessa or Giada on the Food Network, mixed in with some time spent watching CNN

Tonight I thought I’d watch television rather than attempt to find something on JTV and I’m happy I did. I watched a couple of episodes of House Hunters on HGTV and then decided to watch Brothers and Sisters. I had watched a few episodes in it’s first season and enjoyed it, but I didn’t stick with it. I’d been reading good things about it recently and thought I’d see what it had to offer tonight.

And for dessert a Baked Apple with Walnuts, Dulce de Leche and Cream — truly DEElicious!!

And in between it all, I was treated to a commercial with music by America. Don’t ask me what the ad was for, I just remember the ocean and a car and … ok, it apparently didn’t have the impact the AdMen would have liked, but the music of my youth brought a smile to my face.

So there I was, watching a family struggle through their dysfunction, dealing with everything from infertility, to corrupt business practices and the identities of out of wedlock children when I saw two familiar faces from 80’s television; Patricia Wettig and Ken Olin. Then a few scenes later, on the screen appears Peter Horton. Now, if you don’t know why these faces warrant a note in a blog post about memories I recommend a look at IMDB and the summary about Thirty Something. I invited these three into my home every week — Wednesdays I believe — as I myself entered my third decade. They became part of my family. I cared about them, I got angry with them, and I celebrated with them each week which was in contrast to the sadness that was my weekly favorite, China Beach.

I wondered if perhaps Brothers and Sisters was produced and directed by the Thirty Something team and was not surprised to see that Ken Olin is the Executive Producer. It makes sense. Brothers and Sisters has the same feel to it. A comforting, welcoming feel. It was nice.

Southern Hemispheres

A Maté Cup with a Silver Bombilla (Straw)

In losing myself to Justin.tv for over a year and not watching television, it meant not watching The Today Show anymore. The show hasn’t thrilled me for at least 5 years, so not waking up and watching it had no real impact, but I woke up before the sun this morning and eventually made my way into the living room and turned on the tube and headed to NBC just before 7:00.

The Today Show opened with a teaser for Matt Lauer’s annual series, Where in the World is Matt Lauer? I always enjoyed the series, waiting to see if he is traveling to any of the places I’ve had the opportunity to travel to or to live. I didn’t realize this was the week he was traveling the world and when he revealed his location, I was pleasantly surprised to see him standing on Avenida 9 de Julio — the largest boulevard in the world in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

He was just 3 blocks from where I worked. The sun was shining on a beautiful Fall morning and I felt a twinge of sadness that I was not there in The Paris of the South.

One thing I found amusing was the brief segment Matt did on Maté, the communal drink 92% of the people of Argentina enjoy. It’s a kind of a tea drink, that I never grew fond of, but then again, I don’t drink tea at home either. What I disliked the most though was the communal ritual of the drink. A hot metal straw in a hollowed out gourd being passed around to whomever is around.

Now, I know from having watched Matt and team for so many years that he has a thing about germs — don’t most of us? Well, they passed him the Maté and I noticed he got the first go.

Does the straw get hot, you ask? You better believe it! Silver is an amazing conductor of heat!

Then he passed to the person to his right and it was going to have to pass him again, but he very nonchalantly passed the drink to the person on his left with a little grin. I don’t blame him. 😉

2 Responses

  1. Very funny entry. I must say, the photo of tomatoes on your header… makes my mouth water. I can’t wait for our local farmers market to start getting more of the ripe juicy ones in… a little basil, olive oil, sea salt and pepper with a great fresh mozz… oh man, heaven!

  2. Hi writetools,

    Thanks for reading and for the comment. This entry’s food photos were not lovely, that’s for sure so it’s good the header is there to save me from photographic shame. I am waiting, not so patiently, for good summer tomatoes and then I too will be happily eating caprese just as you’ve described. I am thinking this might be the year I make some of my own mozzarella. I say why not … all the cool kids are doing it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

