I Should Have Been a CIA Operative

Weekend Guests

It was another Indian feast and this time we made home made Samosas. DEElicious!

It was a great weekend, but I am exhausted! We cooked and we ate and we cleaned up and we cooked some more and then we went to the supermarket and we cooked and we ate and … well, you get the picture.

Anyway, for those of you that have been keeping up you know that my sister and niece came to visit for the weekend and that I was going back and forth over whether to let them in on my Justopian life. I hemmed and hawed. Ok, what the heck is a hem and a haw anyway? I mean, I know what a hem is in terms of apparel, but what does that have to do with anything and haw? Oh well, never-you-mind, semantics are not important for this story really.

So where was I? Oh yes, we were talking about my house guests and whether or not I would spill the beans about my secret life. I pondered the question for days, weeks even. I went back and forth weighing the consequences of full disclosure. What would happen if I told them? What would happen if I didn’t tell them? What did I have to do to prepare in the event that I did not want to disclose? If I told them who else would find out? If I told them, how many minutes my parents were brought into the fold and what would that mean? If I told them, what impact would it have on my psyche? And on the questions went, bouncing around in my brain, until I just couldn’t think about it any longer.

With all of that in mind, I quickly got to the task of tearing down the Justopia.com “studio.” The house looked so nice and fresh. The TV was back in the bedroom, although hooked up to nothing since I got rid of the cable box in the bedroom, but it looked fine in there — as though it belonged again.

Samosas being prepared

I was sure the desktop machine was going to be a tell-tale sign sitting in the corner of the office, but I put the keyboard behind it and coiled the cables and mouse so that they were barely seen. The cameras were coiled and safely stored in a drawer. All signs of duct tape were gone and the “pedestal” was broken down and the pieces put away where they belonged in the closet.

Everything was as it should be if there were no nightly broadcast of a woman in her home kitchen showing people what she is making for dinner on the internet.

I was convinced that when my sister got to talking about her favorite food blogs and her own blog I would cave and spill the beans in one very long, run-on sentence. I thought for sure I would not be able to contain myself. I held a contest on the broadcast at justopa.com tonight about it and 4 people guessed correctly, that I did not disclose. It was pretty evenly split between those that made a guess and for those that thought I gave in, they thought it happened very quickly.

But … I was wrong! I kept my secret. I’m not really sure why. I think it must have something to do with not wanting to share, not wanting to open the flood gates. If I opened up with the information, it would have surely led to infinite questions and I don’t do well under fire. I’m way too independent.

And for those that care — it’s vegetarian!

So, I am in the same place I was when this all began — living a double life. Not a single question was raised. I apparently covered my tracks like a champ. My sister is into Flickr in a big way now and we were tagging each others’ photos, but I had to make very sure that I was in the right account. Flickr may well be the thing that gives me away. She is into discovering new foodie sites, blogs and photos and it’s entirely possible she will run across Justopia in her searches on Flickr, but I am making an effort for that not to happen.

I began thinking this morning … I think I’m in the wrong business. I think I should have applied for a job with the CIA. I know how to keep a secret — as long as you tell me it is a secret. I’ll bet that if I were a CIA operative as long as no government official outed me, I bet I would have been a great asset. What do you think?

One Response

  1. Hey, I got too busy with my paper. Sorry to say, because that food looks DEElicious!

Leave a Reply

