It’s Mostly About the Food Tonight – Nothing to Watch on JTV and a Welcome JTV Visitor

No Viewing

I didn’t tune into JTV today until I came home from work and then it was just for a brief few minutes. I had some time once I prepped for dinner, but when I took a look, there was nothing that caught my attention. I tuned into Phil’s weekly Help Chat, but there was nothing to keep me there either, so I closed out of JTV and did my best not to fall asleep. I think I was sleeping with my eyes open for a little while though. 🙂

Pizza, the Good Stuff!

Tomatoes, Sautéed Onions and Black Olives — I wonder, what would Lorenzo say?

Oh no you don’t! Don’t go thinking that tonight’s Justopia.com – Justin.tv broadcast was merely a phone call to Domino’s. Oh no, no no. That is just so not me. Nope. I need to get my hands dirty. And I need to get the kitchen dirty. It’s imperative that my dinner not be something as easy as a 10 digit phone call away.

So tonight we made pizza the “old fashioned” way. I needed to put that brand-spanking new pizza stone to work. As soon as I got it home I rinsed it and put it into the oven, according to the directions, letting it heat up with the oven.

But I had a wee bit of a dilemma. I wanted to demo a dessert as well and the oven needed to be as hot as I could get it for the pizza. Well, no worries really. I had time during the broadcast to do both. I just needed to be organized — not an easy task after 8 hours on my feet, but with a little pluck and determination, it’s all possible.


I rolled the dough very thin with the whatchamacallit “cheater” dough roller my sister sent to me. These photos are of the roller being used to make pie dough because I didn’t stop to shoot photos of tonight’s pizza dough production.


Served with a Salad of Cucumbers, Parsley, Tomatoes and thinly sliced Fennel and Lemons

Now THIS is the kind of crust I like! Remember, I’m from Jersey

But it didn’t stop there. With Passover looming it was time to try some new dessert recipes. I found this one by way of The Smitten Kitchen blog. Which, by the way, I love. I may just have to try the Flour-less Chocolate Walnut cookies tomorrow night.

Chocolate-Covered Caramelized Matzoh Crunch
Makes approximately 30 pieces of candy

This recipe is adapted from Marcy Goldman of Betterbaking.com, whose latest book is A Passion For Baking. It’s super-simple and requires no fancy thermometer, equipment, or ingredients. If you can’t get matzoh, use plain crackers such as saltines instead and omit the additional salt in the recipe. For passover or vegans, Marcy advises that it works well with margarine. And for our gluten-free friends, this would be superb made with any gluten-free cracker. I’d love to hear about any variations you might try with it.

  • 4 to 6 sheets unsalted matzohs
  • 1 cup (230g) unsalted butter, cut into chunks
  • 1 cup (215g) firmly-packed light brown sugar
  • big pinch of sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup (160g) semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup (80g) toasted sliced almonds (optional)

1. Line a rimmed baking sheet (approximately 11 x 17″, 28 x 42cm) completely with foil, making sure the foil goes up and over the edges. Cover the foil with a sheet of parchment paper.

Preheat the oven to 375F (190C).

2. Line the bottom of the sheet with matzoh, breaking extra pieces as necessary to fill in any spaces.

3. In a 3-4 quart (3-4l) heavy duty saucepan, melt the butter and brown sugar together, and cook over medium heat, stirring, until the butter is melted and the mixture is beginning to boil. Boil for 3 minutes, stirring constantly. Remove from heat, add vanilla, and pour over matzoh, spreading with a heatproof spatula.

4. Put the pan in the oven and reduce the heat to 350F (175C) degrees. Bake for 15 minutes. As it bakes, it will bubble up but make sure it’s not burning every once in a while. If it is in spots, remove from oven and reduce the heat to 325F (160C), then replace the pan.

5. Remove from oven and immediately cover with chocolate chips. Let stand 5 minutes, then spread with an offset spatula.

6. If you wish, sprinkle with toasted almonds (or another favorite nut, toasted and coarsely-chopped), a sprinkle of flaky sea salt, or roasted cocoa nibs.

Let cool completely, the break into pieces and store in an airtight container until ready to serve. It should keep well for about one week.

ChannelZ Comes to Visit

ChannelZ stopped by the broadcast tonight while I was whipping up the DEElicious dessert. I, of course, was thrilled to see him, but the interesting thing was that most of the current regulars in Justopia.com have never heard or “seen” ChannelZ. He tried to liven up the banter in the room with the fun emoticons he created and that everyone used to love using, but this is a very subdued group . I am beginning to think I need to start donning funky hats and the like. But naaah, that’s not me. It’s clear I am going to have to come up with something, because at times it seems as though no one is in the room with me and it gets awfully lonely talking to myself.

I’ve got a first thing in the morning appointment, so this post is short and sweet and mostly about the food! 🙂

4 Responses

  1. OMG! You made pizza on a night I didn’t tune in! I was sleeping. But, man, I have always asked you to make pizza. 😦 I’m jealous.

  2. I’m sorry Kirsten! I was in the store and got a craving for good pizza. I think you were there the night I made the amazing calzones though, right? Not to worry, I am sure I’ll be doing it again. And I am thinking … meatball calzones. mmmmm!

  3. Yes, that looks good.

  4. It was great! It’s been great for about 4 days now and I am rather sick of cooking AND eating. But I push ahead. Tonight cooking is going to be at a minimum. I am making my way through leftovers, but have a recipe MissouriMatt sent to me for Strawberry soup. Now that sounds like a nice diversion from the heavy food I’ve been consuming these past few days.

Leave a Reply

