When Movies Come to JTV and a Recipe or Two

The Ruins

disclaimer.jpg

For those of you into Horror Flicks, I’d imagine this one is an attractive offering and you’ll be at the movies on the 4th

I wrote about The Human Lab Rat channel the other night and asked for comments to see what other people were thinking. Only a few people have responded. Since the film is launching this week, I wanted to finish my thoughts on the channel. I’m wondering how many people went to the channel and stuck it out through the entire preview?

Like I mentioned in my post about this channel the other day, I was impressed by the technology the channel put on and it took me a couple of visits to the site to figure out what was going on. When I first went into the channel I was put off by what I thought was a guy putting on a real stunt that seemed not only wild, but gross and scary as well. I mean, how can you end up with a vine under your skin, not get it treated by a doctor and not get an infection so horrendous that you don’t end up losing your arm?

ruins4.jpg

Those questions were going through my head as I went in for another look. What I noticed was that he said the same thing each time I entered. “Batman’s just a guy in a suit.” “Hey Angelface, how are ya doing?” “No, I’m not gonna do it.” “No.” “No.” and more. I noticed that the viewer count was at 20 each time I went in, which was important to note because someone in the chat mentions 20 viewers to which he responds to. Last night when I looked in on the channel it was registering 0 Live Viewers and 0 Total Views. I that was an anomoly, perhaps related to some technical issues JTV was experiencing this weekend, because today it’s back to showing 20 Live Viewers and almost 250k total views.

ruins-sign-u.jpg

I also noticed this morning that there is no ability to pause the video. The pause button is not clickable. Once the movie trailer begins, it takes over the channel GUI. There’s no way back unless you refresh your browser, so you can either watch the trailer or move on manually.

And, when it’s working, you can create a HumanLabRatFan### name. It has not worked for me until tonight when I created the HumanLabRatFan305 name and the bot asked “me” a question which you can see by clicking on the image below.

labratfan.jpg

I’m hoping there will be more of this kind of movie marketing in JTV’s future, perhaps the same can be done for television shows? How about travel or shopping? I see potential.

vine.jpg

I loved the graphic of the vine taking over the channel

Recipes

I have been remiss in posting recipes in quite some time. I’m sorry. Time seems to get away from me and it’s 2am by the time I’m done with the blog at which point I can’t think straight. I really need to get recipes posted before I launch the show each night. For now though, below is the easy, yet DEElicious recipe I made for chicken with Balsamico-Rosemary Marinade.

img_0349.jpg

Balsamic-Rosemary Roasted Chicken

  • 1 large chicken leg quarter (leg and thigh)
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • Balsamic-Rosemary Marinade

Marinate chicken pices in marinade for 3 – 4 and up to 24 hours.

Preheat the oven to 375ΒΊ

Add olive oil to a pan (preferably one that can go from stove top to oven) and heat. Add chicken to the oil, reserving the marinade and cook until each side is beautifully colored. When done, transfer the pan to the pre heated oven for 45 minutes, or until the chicken is done (170ΒΊ).

Just before removing the chicken from the oven, transfer the reserved marinade to a small saucepan and bring to a light boil on medium heat, stirring to ensure the sauce does not burn, while reducing to a luscious, thick and creamy accent to your chicken.

Plate the chicken and spoon the sauce over. Add finishing salt if you have it in your kitchen and serve.

Balsamic-Rosemary Marinade

  • 2 tablespoons balsamic crema or glaze
  • 1/3 plus 3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 4 1/2 tablspoons Demara sugar (firmly packed golden brown sugar works just as well)
  • 3/4 teaspoons freshly ground pepper
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped fresh rosemary
  • 5 garlic cloves, chopped

In a food processor, combine the vinegar, olive oil, soy sauce, brown sugar and pepper and pulse until blended. With the motor running, drop the rosemary and garlic through the feed tube and continue to process until fairly smooth.

Balsamic Vinaigrette

  • 3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 small clove of garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil (or any other flavorless oil)
  • salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh basil or other fresh herb to your liking (cilantro, oregano, etc.)
  • In a small bowl, combine the balsamic vinegar, mustard and garlic and whisk to blend. Add the oils one at a time in a slow, steady stream, whisking constantly until smooth and blended. Season with salt, pepper and herbs. You can use a small food processor to create this marinade as well, but the key is to emulsify it by pouring the oil into the vinegar in a slow steady stream.
8 Responses

  1. I am running firefox on linux and i never bothered to figure out why chat on justin.tv doesn’t work on this computer. Justin.tv video’s load, but the chat just continues to say “loading”. I don’t really mind since I rarely participated in the chats anyway. Even when I used windows, i had flashblock and only activated the chat a few times. The reason I bring this up is because when I go to Human Lab Rat’s channel, the video just says “loading” and never ever loads for me. I go to the other justin.tv channels and it works like normal, video loads but no chat. So Human Lab rats channel is totally dependent on the chat loading in order to see the video at all, the chat and video are integrated unlike the other channels, that’s probably why the viewer counts stay the same like you say, an artificial view count. Each person who clicks on that channel gets a “customized” viewing, there could be 50 other people in there but they are in their own private world with the lab rat, and the bot chatters.
    I agree this kind of marketing is interesting (viral marketing?) but some could be put off and feel deceived….sure its all in fun, but people expect to see an actual human lab rat and not a trailer for a movie. I guess its a fine line, if you go too far like that girl on youtube.com (forgot her name!) you get haters, but if you don’t go far enough it’s boring. And then there are the oddballs like myself with funky computer configurations who have never seen the human lab rat video anyway because I have scripts turned of or something.
    Anyway, I’d just like to finish my ramble by saying I’m a regular reader to your blog and although I don’t watch justin.tv much at all anymore your blog seems to keep me up to date, keep up the good work!

  2. Tom,

    Thanks for reading and for taking the time for the detailed response. Interesting point you bring up about the channel being “customized” for each viewer, individually. I wonder how many people are put off by the “pushed” advertising? It would be a very interesting thing to run a survey on. Well, ok, I come from a Customer Sat and survey background. πŸ™‚

  3. I bet in a survey some people would scream shameless advertising, but then how many of those same people would go see the movie? In the end, all that matters is getting people to go to the theater or buying the DVD.

  4. Justopia,

    As I said in an earlier post, I do not care much for this man. I personally think this is all a hoax. I have slipped into his room and a few times and everytime I go into his chatroom I always see some familiar chatters in the room. In paticular Starguitar007 and Angelphace, 2 people that I have been very upfont about feelings towards them.

    I didn’t know he was doing a movie? What kind of movie is he doing? Is it a documentary in what he is growing in his arm? Personally, I think its gross and I’ll choose not to watch.

    Thanks

    PC Easy

  5. I am so disappointed, pceasy. I was planning to fly out on Friday and take you to the movie with me. What a bummer. :/

  6. You’re probably right Tom, but then again I am a big banner ad clicker. If it catches my attention I click. I’m “one of those.” πŸ™‚

  7. Wow Justopia is writing about us. Thanks for your compliments. I’ll never forget your reaction when Human Lab Rat showed you his arm!

  8. Oh Angelphace I am a major skeptic now and … it’s April Fool’s Day to boot.

    I mean, it was great chatting with you in the Human Lab Rat channel. Hmmm, the good news is that you’ve given me something to blog about tonight. I may piss off readers by writing about the HLR channel one more time, but what the heck, it’s my blog, right?! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

