Upside Down Caramel, Almond, Coconut, Banana Cake FTL!! and the Weekly Help Broadcast

What Happened?

img_0251.jpg

I failed. Right there. Live, on .tv. Epic Fail! I had not planned to make a dessert tonight. There was no baking in my future when I got home from work, but after surfing over to one of my favorite food blogs, seeing the photos of a DEElicious looking cake, I decided I would make one on the show tonight. I did not have walnuts, but I made a simple adjustment, I used almonds and toasted coconut. What could be bad, right?

The photos at the SmittenKitchen.com blog looked awesome, but as you can see, it’s not what my cake ended up looking like. Now that I look at the “good cake” photos, I do believe I have figured out what went wrong.

img_0252.jpg

It’s simple. I was too impatient! I took the cake out far too early. The funny thing is that I tested the cake with a knife and it came out clean, but I did not go to the bottom of the pan thinking that the caramel topping would show up on the knife no matter how long I left it in the oven. But as you can see from the SmittenKitchen’s cake, it needed to go in long enough to get really dark.

img_0253.jpg

The texture of my topping was as though it was uncooked brown sugar. But I will tell you this. I am going to try this again. I will not be beaten by this cake! πŸ™‚ The texture and taste of my cake was really great. The bananas were obvious and it had a nice crumb. I want to make it work, so stay tuned, I will try again!

Thursday at JTV

I was in the kitchen cleaning up a bit late tonight so when I tuned into JTV I realized it was time for the Help Channel Broadcast. I tuned in and saw Justin chatting with viewers. He was asking people to download the new Alexa Toolbar which is at the bottom of the JTV pages. I don’t understand what it does, but he said, “We need some Alexa love,” and asked that everyone download it.

phils-hair.jpg

I missed the screen shot of Kyle’s “big hair” image that Phil posted before he made his own hair “large”

Each week Phil, or Michael or Justin or all of them get on camera and ask viewers how we think things are going, what we’d like changed, what’s good, what’s bad, etc. and then they go on to tell us what’s planned for release the following day. Tonight’s big information was about the new chat UI. People seemed pleased with the new format and then someone complained about the JustinFans showing up in the user lists. They put a poll up and it seems that 60% did not care or want the generic names removed. I’m not sure what the big deal is? They are people that are watching a channel, whether able to chat or not. Isn’t that what broadcasters want — viewers?

new-chat.jpg

I attempted to catch the new layout, but it appears I missed it. From what I saw, it looks like a good change.

They mentioned the JTV Anniversary party that’s scheduled for Saturday, but did not give many details other than to say it would probably start at about 8pm PDT and that Justin may broadcast throughout the day so we should be sure to tune in.

Spring Break!

Since I began broadcasting, I have not had more than 1 night off in any given week. I have always worried that being gone for more than a day or two would result in a loss of all viewers. Don’t ask me why I had this notion? It’s driven me to broadcast 6 – 7 nights a week though. I am going to take a deep breath though and a nice, long weekend and not broadcast or blog for the next 3 days. I will be back to regular broadcasting and blogging on Monday at 9pm Eastern time. I am not sure what I will make — hmmm… perhaps a 2nd try at this cake? πŸ™‚

See you after Easter.

9 Responses

  1. Well i wouldn;t say failed since i just realised that I bought a house with a kitchen in it….I hope you ebjoy your time off and we will al be waiting for our favorite JTV COOK ..JUSTOPIA……..

  2. Hehe! And what did you think that room was for? A different kind of bathroom with a walk in chiller for the summer? πŸ™‚ LOL

    I’ll “see” you in the kitchen on Monday!! πŸ™‚

  3. Hi Justopia! The cake looks deelicious to me!
    I have been catching up on archives during the day, obviously your work hours πŸ™‚
    I also have been scouring the net looking for some good chicken recipes. I’m tired of the same ol same ol, that I’ve been making.
    Your “chicken with mushroom and red wine, Chicken with garlic and lemons and chicken marsella” look so good, but could not find the recipes. Are they on another link?
    Enjoy your days off.
    Sumdanc

  4. Here you go Sumdance. Happy eating! πŸ™‚

    http://tinyurl.com/2b7teg — Chicken with Red Wine and Mushrooms. My current favorite chicken dish!

    http://tinyurl.com/2dfd66 — Chicken with Lemons, Garlic and Tarragon.

    Cheers!

  5. Thanks Justopia! I will try the chicken with red wine this week. Maybe even tonight!
    I caught the one archive of you talking about your “camp days” and I was LOL’ing over your “police station” story. When the police said “we have a bag here, of what we believe is marijuana” and you said back “why don’t you smell it?” Hiliarious!! ahhhh…the 70’s!! I miss them!!

  6. Hi Sumdance!

    I’m curious to know how your chicken turns out! Yes, reliving the “olden days” is much fun!

  7. Justopia, I love your show. This looks excellent! Happy Easter!

  8. The chicken turned out very good. I used sliced portobello mushrooms instead. I made curry couscous from a recipe I found on another site. Not sure how I feel about curry though.
    Thanks again! HEre is the recipe I used for my couscous
    Ingredients:

    *
    2 cups couscous
    *
    2 tablespoons curry paste
    *
    2 cups water
    *
    1/4 cup olive oil
    *
    1 medium red bell pepper, diced
    *
    1 medium orange bell pepper, diced
    *
    1 jalapeno pepper, diced
    *
    1/2 cup pine nuts, toasted
    *
    1/2 cup dried cranberries
    *
    1/4 cup mint, chopped
    *
    2 tablespoons fresh thyme, chopped

    Preparation:

    In medium saucepan, bring couscous, curry paste and water to a boil, stirring well. Remove from heat; cover and set aside for 5 minutes until couscous is cooked.

    In a large frying pan, combine oil and peppers and sautΓ© over medium heat until tender, about 5 to 6 minutes. Add pine nuts and cranberries to peppers and cook until pine nuts are lightly toasted. Remove from heat; add mint, thyme and salt, to taste. Combine with couscous and serve.

    For easy meal, serve with grilled chicken overtop.

  9. Hi Sumdance!

    Thanks for the update. Curry is definitely not for everyone. Maybe next time try 1 tablespoon of curry paste for a lighter curry flavor. Also, there are so many different combinations that can go into curry seasoning, maybe you just didn’t find the right one for you.

Leave a Reply

