Using What’s in the Fridge and Pantry, The Naked Cowboy in the News and Which Broadcasters Have Fled to Live.Yahoo!?

Made Over Left Overs

I’ve been spending far too much money on food in the past 5 months — since I began broadcasting and from time to time I just open the fridge and the freezer and the pantry and see what I can put together from the ingredients I have at my fingertips. I didn’t know what I felt like having and as I thought about it during the day at work an idea began to formulate.

I had two pieces of chicken milanesa and small bundles of fresh vegetables in the fridge. I had also picked up some shrimp chips, or uncooked shrimp flavored rice crackers which just needed a little oil to puff them up.

img_5845.jpg

What resulted was a DEElicious Asian inspired salad.

img_5849.jpg

I whipped up a dressing composed of rice wine vinegar, soy sauce, mirin, ginger, and peanut butter which I cooked in a small saucepan for a few minutes, until the peanut butter was incorporated. After pouring the mixture into a heat proof bowl, I set it into an ice water bath to chill the dressing down.

img_5851.jpg

For dessert, we used the Bosc pear and made a poaching liquid using marsala wine, water, orange rind, vanilla bean and a cinnamon stick. The pear poached in the the liquid, basting every 5 – 8 minutes until done, about 40 minutes. I removed the pear to a dessert plate and reduced the poaching liquid until it became thick, like caramel.

img_5853.jpg

The poached pear was plated up with a dollop of mascarpone cheese and a spoonful of the bittersweet ganache that we made earlier in the week. What a delicious dessert!

img_5858.jpg

I prefer my cowboys with chaps and a flannel shirt, thank you very much.

Did you see the article about The Naked Cowboy? It seems he has brought a suit against Mars, Inc for using his likeness on a couple of Times Square placards. Too bad he doesn’t broadcast on JTV any longer. We could have used that publicity. Even negative publicity is good publicity.

Live.Yahoo!

I’ve noticed a couple of JTV broadcasters have set up shop on Yahoo’s new live video offering. When I went over there this afternoon I saw Magic Rich on the front page and someone mentioned that Bradman has a channel there now as well. I haven’t seen him around JTV in a little while, so I suppose he’s made the leap. I set up a channel a few minutes ago to see how easy it would be and how it worked. It was easy enough and the broadcast seemed to work well, but I’ll stick with Justopia.com, thank you very much.

Leave a Reply

