Valentine’s Day Dinner in Photos

Broadcasting a V-Day Dinner

img_5826.jpg

It’s not easy to come up with a different menu to broadcast 6 – 7 nights a week. Sometimes I want to come home, prop my feet up and go into the kitchen for nothing more than a sandwich or a bowl of soup. But I persevere. The viewers and ChannelZ give me the spark needed each night to make it happen on Justopia.com.

On the show tonight, we cooked a DEElicious multi-course dinner that anyone can recreate for their own Valentine’s Day dinner. We started with simple, but much loved Deviled Eggs. Nothing more than perfectly hard boiled eggs with a yolk mixture of chopped onions, celery, flat leaf parsley, mayonnaise and dijon mustard piped into the cooked egg white and Voila! Deviled Eggs.

img_5828.jpg

Using green wonton wrappers (green for spinach? wasabi? I’m not sure since the wrapper package was written in an Asian language) we created a filling of dried salami, sweet gorgonzola and mascarpone cheese. I fit the wonton wrappers into a muffin tin and brushed them with butter before putting in the oven. As soon as they came out of the oven they were filled with the cheese mixture so that the cheese would melt a bit.

img_5829.jpg

We made a salad of thinly sliced Radishes, celery and cucumber and topped with avocado. The dressing was an olive oil and raspberry vinegar vinaigrette with salt and pepper.

img_5830.jpg

The chicken was dipped in egg mixed with a tablespoon of soy sauce and bread crumbs before frying up in a pan with soy bean oil and olive oil. The key to the moist chicken was brining for two hours prior to frying which made it extremely moist!

img_5833.jpg

Dessert was DEElightfully DEElicious! I dipped chocolate chip cookies I made on the weekend and hand crafted marshmallows (purchased at Williams-Sonoma) in bittersweet chocolate ganache. DEEcadent! The marshmallows were then dipped in either toasted desiccated coconut or toasted chopped pecans.

img_5834.jpg

img_5835.jpg

Who could NOT love these treats?!

img_5838.jpg

I’m not sure what was going on with my fellow broadcasters on Justin.tv, but I can pretty much guarantee there wasn’t a meal like this being created on camera!

img_5837.jpg

4 Responses

  1. I love your new layout!

  2. Thanks PC, glad you like it! Can you get the RSS feed to work? It just throws up the source code when I try it. aarrgghh! Of course, maybe you don’t want it fed to you. WTF! Why wouldn’t you? šŸ™‚

  3. I haven’t been around here in a while and your blog and your is shaping up beautifully.

    I don’t know if I am imagining it or not, but your meals seems to have evolved as well. Their layout, color, textures, way of cooking seems to have diversified. However, your chicken is a different story, since it is fried like before, but still good. Your assumption that the wrapping is green like a wasabi mixture is dead on, and the color is beautifully blended on the white plate with the filling of salami, gorgonzola, and marscapone cheese. Deviled eggs is usually a nice addition to any meal and it blended well with the color of the green wrap, but kinda faded into the plate because of the similar colors. Your side dish looks good too, avocados and cucumber goes nicely with each other, while the raspberry vinegar might add a bit of tang and sweetness to the dish, which sounds all too good. Green is always a good color, especially wasabi green šŸ˜‰

    Your deserts are wonderful, yet simplistic. Ganache is always a good way to make a desert look very appetizing and this is no exception. Plain marshmallows are usually not appetizing in my opinion, but with a dip of bittersweet ganache and another dip into toasted coconuts and pecans would make it taste great even to me. Chocolate chip cookies with extra chocolate, need I say more? šŸ˜€

    Happy Valentines Justo! Keep the dishes coming!

  4. Oddnumber and Cindy, I’d love to reply to your posts individually and with clarity, but I am suddenly having a very strange problem with my keyboard and if I don’t just write one huge run-on sentence it won’t work. It looks like I am going to have to take the case off and see what is going on under the hood. I suspect it’s food related! Another victim of lifecasting dinner every night. The amount of food in this thing is probably hideous! UGH

    Anyway, thanks for reading and for the feedback. I’ll “see” you in the kitchen later!

    Justy

Leave a Reply

