The Chef’s Table at Justopia.com – No Reservations Required

Change of Venue

You’ve probably heard of it. An intimate table in the kitchen of one of the well known restaurants in the big cities — The Chef’s Table. People wait months to get a reservation and then shell out tons of dough to eat the famed dough. It’s prestige, it’s privilege, it’s fun extravagance. Well, tonight viewers of Justopia.com were lucky enough to score a night at The Chef’s table — Digitally and for free!

img_5738.jpg

Yucatan Chicken, Red Beans, Steamed Cauliflower and Fried Corn Tortilla Triangles

You see, I had major problems getting my broadcast to behave from my Mac. Eventually we gave up and turned the sound on the stove-cam and tried it out. It worked flawlessly. While the video quality is not usually as good as the Mac, it was stable and really, I suspect no one noticed any degradation in picture quality.

It was a bit of a challenge getting used to talking and working at a whole different angle, but it really didn’t take more than a few minutes to get used to it.

img_5740.jpg

I used all 4 burners on the cooktop tonight, so it made for a bit more warmth in the kitchen, especially near the stove, but it was manageable. At the end of the prep, I had to decide exactly where I was going to eat. I couln’t move the camera to the living room and since the computer that runs the stove-cam is a big lug of a desktop, I could not move it to the dining room. That meant some creativity was necessary.

img_5748.jpg

The Chef’s Table at Justopia and a horrendously messy kitchen! 😦

I pulled in an end table and one of my dining room chairs and set up a little café style dinner tale. I thought it was going to be very akward, but in reality, it was just like usual. The monitor was a little far away to read in comfort, but it worked just fine.

img_5752.jpg

ChannelZ helped troubleshoot and I think I figured it out. The video quality is still not quite what it was 2 days ago before JTV pushed the new Broadcaster tool, but it’s going to be just fine.

One Response

  1. Wow, it looks like it was an interesting night.. having to eat in the kitchen, I am glad it was not too ackward. The meal looks delicious as always. I cannot wait until Monday night! Hope you have a good day!

Leave a Reply

