Superbowl XLll– What More is there to Say?

Plenty

georgew.jpg

The Control Room in one of the FOX trucks

So there I was, sitting on the couch, waiting for my osso buco to roast to golden deliciousness and thinking about what to write about while I sat in silence, my plasma TV dark. See, I have no interest in watching football. I know, I’m un-American. I am not one of the huddled masses when it comes to sports. My interest in the game was limited to getting the order I’d taken for Fried Wontons delivered on time for a Super Bowl party it was going to, until just before game time, that is. I decided to check in on JTV and there, in front of my eyes was a FOX icon up on the channel bar. It was not in the #1 spot, but it was just a few away from it. I sauntered on over and walked in and saw a four camera shot from what looked and sounded like the control room at FOX.

Interesting.

bowl-xlii.jpg

I watched as the team in the control room put on television for all the Super Bowl fans that were interested in the behind the scenes activit. I looked up and noticed another Super Bowl icon on the channel bar. This time in the #1 position. When I headed in, the game was just about to kick off, people were “chanting” for the game to come on and most importantly, the feed was horrible. Compared to the backstage channel, it was a miserable broadcast. I’m not sure why anyone would want to watch this broadcast? Audio was good, but video was miserable. It’s not like the commercials were suppressed for those that thought they could watch the game on JTV without. And why wouldn’t you want the commercials? Isn’t that one of the big draws? πŸ™‚ Ok, maybe there actually are people that want to see sweaty men running up and down a field chasing a ball. I don’t know.

Whatever it was, I had the feeling it wasn’t an NFL sanctioned broadcast.

end.jpg

Meanwhile, back in the control room, the team was busy at work. They were looking for celebrities in the stands and calling out box numbers for the people behind the cameras to use to find shots of people that viewers would find interesting — John Travolta, Gizelle, Kurt Russell, Kate Hudson, Jim Carey and more. We’d hear them directing the shots and moments later the person would appear on my television screen.

disclaimer.jpg

Yikes! Time to go back to the drawing board on the blog post? Naaah..

disclaimer-remark2.jpg

superbowl1.jpg

Clearly, GeorgeW likes playing with his colleagues πŸ™‚

superbowl2.jpg

GeorgeW, the FOX employee that seemed to be the JTV channel owner stayed on for a few minutes after the game and said that he launched the channel to give friends and family a chance to see him at work and at the end of the game he said that without football to broadcast, it looks like all that is left is Super Tuesday. I am all in for that!

Oh wait! On FOX? Naaah, I think I’ll skip it. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

