Waiting … Waiting … Waiting … and Another DEElicious Dinner!

Refresher

Just to refresh your memories, this is what I wrote last night with regards to the “breaking news announcement” that ECV and team announced they would be making tonight:

But … I will be pissed if it doesn’t make me say, “OH MY GOD! SHE/HE DID NOT!!” I want the jaw-dropping, horror-stricken, shocked look to come over me kind of feeling from this big news that EastCoast plans to announce from Laggie’s den of flu and seasonal trees. I just hope that Cody and Romeo the cute hot-dogs don’t take all the attention away from the big-Deborah Norville-Inside Edition-TV gossip show breaking news that ECV, pceasy and Lorenzo chatted with us about and posted on the iownthenetwork.com blog tonight is as shocking as they say it is.

Now, I just want to say that as I type this, it is 11:50pm and still no sign of EastCoastVegas. We have heard Laggie on the phone with him — Allegedly — and we have seen a number of Twitter updates adjusting the time of his arrival, but nothing yet. Of course, who knows if I’m being played with.

Ahhh, 11:58pm and he has finally arrived. I am on the edge of my seat waiting for the big news. I sure hope I am not disappointed.

I’m counting on this to be bigger than the moon landing. I’m hoping it’s bigger than the Beatles’s Ed Sullivan appearance. I won’t be disappointed if it’s more shocking than Geraldo Rivera not finding Jimmy Hoffa.

So, now it’s been almost 15 minutes since his arrival and the set up is still in progress. Blah, blah, blah small talk. Here’s the bathroom. Blah, blah, blah. Here is my laptop. Blah, blah, blah. I brought you some pork rinds. Blah, blah, blah. Here is the Michelob Light. Blah … blah … blah ……………………………………………………….

Enough already! On with the show!

classic.jpg

We were victims of technical difficulties for what seemed like hours, but was 45 minutes and at 12:41 I am still waiting…waiting…waiting… So it’s time to move on to tonight’s dinner at justopia.com.

Dinner

Tonight’s dinner was powered in part by a justopia.com viewer. I wanted to make a Bistecca alla Fiorentina — or Tuscan Steak. I had this in Tuscany a few times and it was DEElicious so I wanted to recreate it on the show. Panda sent me mail with a recipe which I embellished just a bit. In the end, it was spectacular. It’s great to have viewer contribution and I hope to receive more suggestions and recipes in the future. Thanks SxyPanda!! 🙂

img_5463.jpg

Bistecca alla Fiorentina, Broccoli with Crushed Red Pepper and Croutons and Mushroom Pasta with Tomatoes

To make the steak follow the directions below. This is an easy recipe and can be altered easily to suit your taste.

  • 1 Ribeye steak
  • 3 cloves garlic, crushed into a paste
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon and remaining half of lemon cut in quarters
  • Kosher Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 6 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil divided

Crush the garlic into a paste using salt as an abrasive. Place the steak in a non-corrosive pan. Rub the garlic paste on both sides of the steak. Pour 2 tablespoons of the olive oil and the lemon juice into the pan. Add salt and pepper to taste and let marinate for 30 minutes to an hour.

Heat a grill pan to the smoking point and sear the beef to lock in the flavors.

img_5465.jpg

Disappointment

So, I waited up for the big news and yes, I was disappointed. However, it seemed that the info they announced was still bothering ECV, pceasy and Lorenzo. I guess I’ve just heard too many stories about the fake-identity-on-the-internet thing too many times in the past 14 years for any of this to phase me.

ECV has acknowledged that the show “bombed,” so I am going to let it go. We move on. I’m anxious for the old format and ECV fun to return.

8 Responses

  1. Well I am guess we never explained it correctly so I apologise. As I said over and over again, it passed the “wow” test to everyone I know. However, the hate I received from my own community was overwhelming. I was outed two times, I received hate mail that called me the worst things in the world, not by biggots – but by people I befriended or my own community. In the end Jlane and ECV made up for a misunderstaning, but I am still am still in shock. (btw jlane probably doesn’t know me nor said anything about me)

  2. Hi Justopia,

    What is the difference between Kosher salt and regular salt… well… other than it is Kosher. Can you use regular salt to make the garlic paste? That steak looks soooooooo yummy I’m gonna have to try your recipe.

    I agree with you on the evc announcement thing, what I heard was really nothing new at all. Oh well, life goes on. However, reading pceasy’s post here I find it rather sad that people would have such a hateful reaction.

  3. Hi Lorelei,

    Kosher salt is just a little more coarse than table salt, it usually does not contain iodine and breaks down more slowly than regular salt and the only reason it’s called kosher salt is because due to it’s properties, it is used for koshering meat. Since it disolves more slowly, it aids in the koshering process which I won’t get into here, but basically it has to do with extracting blood. EWWW! 🙂 and sure, you can use regular salt to make the paste, but watch that you don’t use too much. Err on the side of caution and use less than you think you should. You can always add at the table.

    About the show last night and pceasy’s comment, I agree. It was, like all other ECV shows, supposed to be entertainment, but things seemed to spiral a bit out of control and it seems that pc was on the receiving end of some hateful, hurtful things and that is a shame.

  4. hey pc,

    I am in the process of writing a follow up to this post which I will publish tonight. I am sorry you were on the receiving end of ugly. Just as you guys saw with the Dawn Marie deception, people feel they can say and do as they wish with anonymity and say and do things that I suspect they would never have the balls to do in real life. Ugh!

    That people would be so irate about a silly story on an entertainment show is beyond me.

    Come to Justopia.com tonight. It will be subdued. We’ll be making chicken and relaxing on a quiet Saturday night. Or hell, go out and enjoy your Saturday night. Wait! No! Don’t do that, hold off until tomorrow. I am taking tomorrow off so that is the best night for you to have a personal life! ROTFL! 🙂

  5. thanks for the mention justopia , i am only home from work now so i missed the chicken dinner but i wait for the awesome pics and blog to come 🙂

    have a great night and if you need ( want ) any more ideas my head is brimming 🙂

    brian aka sxypanda

  6. Hey Brian, aka sxypanda!

    Thanks for stopping by and I am always open for new recipes. It’s so hard to think of a new menu each day! 🙂

    I think I am going to curl up with a good book tonight and skip the writing for a night. I’ll write and post photos tomorrow.

  7. Hi Justopia… I happened to have Googled Myself as i do Now and again and came across this site of yours. I am Concerned of the matter that happened in the past that i am unaware of even happening. Scrolling above to pceasy’s write in. I don’t know what ECV had said about me in regards to pceasy but i never really knew anything about pceasy until just recently. It caught me off gaurd. thats the trouble with ECV, he stirs up controvery when the facts are untrue or even unrelated to his bullshit show on jtv. I don’t know what was said or happened but the statement made in the above writings of pceasy are stated as being true and i quote… PCEASY “(btw jlane probably doesn’t know me nor said anything about me)”

  8. Hi JLane,

    I really don’t know any details in terms of what PCEASY wrote about. My M.O. is to not pry. It was months ago and ECV has disappeared into the woodwork. I’ve heard that he has broadcasted from time to time, but I just don’t have an interest, so I haven’t searched it out.

    Anyway, thanks for reading and I hope you’ll come by the broadcast. As my recent posts show, I am off on vacation and won’t be back to the world of cooking on air until Monday.

    Ciao!

Leave a Reply

