Breakfast for Dinner and Speculating on tomorrow’s ECV Announcement

Curiosity

ECV is talking about a big news story he will be breaking tomorrow on his show that will blow all of our minds — broadcasters and viewers alike. It appears that it involves someone or some people located in Canada. He communicated to us that Deborah Norville picked up the story for Inside Edition from a Digg story that came from iownthenetwork.com, one of ECV’s domains. I am a curious sort, so I’ve been trying to dig up the details, but I am apparently not cut out for private detective work. I can’t find a thing. He did state that he’s alluded to the issue in the past and pceasy said we could probably all figure out the gender of said person(s), but we know how their shenanigans go. It’s all part of the entertainment value.

dogs1.jpg

ECV is going to love Cody the hot dog climbing all over him at Laggie’s tomorrow night – I can tell

But … I will be pissed if it doesn’t make me say, “OH MY GOD! SHE/HE DID NOT!!” I want the jaw-dropping, horror-stricken, shocked look to come over me kind of feeling from this big news that EastCoast plans to announce from Laggie’s den of flu and seasonal trees. I just hope that Cody and Romeo the cute hot-dogs don’t take all the attention away from the big-Deborah Norville-Inside Edition-TV gossip show breaking news that ECV, pceasy and Lorenzo chatted with us about and posted on the iownthenetwork.com blog tonight is as shocking as they say it is.

Breakfast Risotto

This was a DEElicious addition to dinner tonight. Who would have thought breakfast food could be made in a crock pot! Some of the recipes I found are for hours and hours of cooking just like the main course dishes we are all used to.

  • 1/2 cup (1/2 stick) butter
  • 4 medium Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored and diced into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups aborio rice
  • 1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 4 cups unfiltered apple juice, at room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Cook time: 1 1/2 to 2 hours (HIGH)

  1. Coat 4 1/2 quart Crock Pot® slow cooker with nonstick cooking spray; set aside. Melt butter in large skillet over medium-high heat. Add apples, cinnamon, allspice and salt. Cook and stir 3 to 5 minutes or until apples begin to release juices. Transfer to slow cooker.
  2. Add rice and stir to coat. Sprinkle brown sugar evenly over top. Add apple juice and vanilla. Cover; cook on HIGH 1 1/2 to 2 hours or until all liquid is absorbed. Ladle risotto into bowls and serve hot. Garnish as desired. I added toasted shredded coconut and toasted walnuts for crunch.

Makes 6 servings

img_5427.jpg

img_5430.jpg

img_5433.jpg

img_5434.jpg

img_5443.jpg

img_5445.jpg

img_5450.jpg

Omelet, Breakfast Risotto, Hash Browns and thick cut Bacon

img_5452.jpg

I’ve found the key to making a perfect omelet … cooking on medium heat. I add a “secret ingredient” as well. When the eggs are whisked I add a rounded teaspoon of mayonnaise. Good, full-strength mayo. It makes the eggs smooth. Tonight I added baby spinach, chopped tomatoes, onions and a combo of shredded Monterey Jack and Colby cheeses.

img_5454.jpg

img_5459.jpg

img_5460.jpg

Wednesday’s Spaghetti Night Feast

I saw a beautiful wedge of gorgonzola at my local Whole Foods market yesterday afternoon and decided on the spot that my spaghetti dish would be an untraditional one. I find it difficult to create menus a few days in advance and the morning I posted the Spaghetti menu I was in the mood for a tomato based sauce, but when I woke up yesterday morning that was not at all what I wanted. So it was luck that I strolled past the cheese section and spotted a beautiful gorgonzola dolce — or sweet gorgonzola. I had button mushrooms in the fridge and a package of nice, thick-cut bacon and some Campari tomatoes to use. I knew it would be a DEElicious dinner.

It’s easy to make this dish:

  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil, divided
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 1 box fresh button mushrooms
  • 1 cup cooked (crispy) bacon
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 ounces gorgonzola – I prefer to use dolce or sweet
  • 1 large, minced or thinly sliced shallot
  • 1/3 cup chopped toasted walnuts or pine nuts
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • fresh basil chopped
  • grated parmesano reggiano to taste
  • Spaghetti or fusilli
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Bring water in a large pot to boil for spaghetti and add 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Heat oil and butter in a sauté pan until bubbling. Add mushrooms and sauté on medium heat until soft and brown, about 15 minutes, adding garlic and shallots in the final 5 minutes. At the same time, put spaghetti in the pot to boil.

Add the gorgonzola cheese and stir constantly as it melts into the mushrooms and bacon. When totally melted, add the heavy cream, stirring constantly until thickened. When done, drain the pasta and toss into the pan with the sauce adding chopped tomatoes and basil and stir to incorporate. Place in serving bowl and add grated parmesan cheese to top.

img_5416.jpg

img_5417.jpg

img_5421.jpg

img_5422.jpg

6 Responses

  1. I think you will be blown away Justopia.

  2. Ok PC, but if I find out that Lorenzo is a girl, that’s not going to be shocking enough! It better be something much more shocking than that! 🙂

  3. Both of these dishes look so delicious! I am going to try the mayo trick tomorrow morning when I make the kids eggs before they go to school. YUM! 🙂

  4. Hi Ro!

    I’m so glad you liked them. Just wait until you see the breakfast photos, video and recipe I am about to post! It’s sinfully DEElicious, and you can’t eat more than a few bites, but ho-ly cow will your family love you for this one! 🙂

  5. You are such a food tease. 😉

  6. No no Ro, not at all. I make many of the recipes available right here so everyone can make it themselves 😉

Leave a Reply

