When Life Gives You Lemons…

Make Lemon Bars!

There’s just no way to feel like the world is coming down around you when there’s something fun to make in the kitchen and Lemon Bars is one of those fun treats to make. For me, the problem came into play when I realized I was 2/3 cup of sugar short!

img_5227.jpg

img_5233.jpg

img_5237.jpg

img_5230.jpg

Pickles

If you’re ever in a pickle, I hope it’s this kind …

I decided to make these wholesome treats after seeing pickled carrots on the Smitten Kitchen blog. I just love that blog! She writes so well, shoots fabulous food photos and DEElicious goodies come out of her kitchen. I am often inspired by what I see in her blog and the pickles hit me when I saw them this morning. I just HAD to make them! I had cauliflower in the fridge that was crying out for attention and figured I would only use one of the pickling cucumbers I had purchased earlier in the week, so why not add one to the batch. They still need an overnight in the fridge, but were a great, light, crunchy addition to the meal.

img_5287.jpg

We put a pot of French Onion Soup on the stove and kept the meal on the lighter side. Another day without exotic herbs and seasonings. The one thing I did not shoot was the broiled grapefruit. It was DEElicious and went really well with the light theme. The most calorie laden part of this meal was the 4 tablespoons of combined olive oil and butter and the 2 ounces of gruyere cheese that topped the crouton. All in all a tasty Sunday night dinner.

img_5288.jpg

img_5290.jpg

img_5294.jpg

img_5290.jpg

Tomorrow is going to be a GREAT lunch day — I am feeling a nice tuna sandwich on toasted olive bread with pickled vegetables. DEElicious!

2 Responses

  1. I checked out the Smitten Kitchen site and tried making her chocolate chip cookies. They were beyond yummy! I have to hide them from myself!!! I also mixed up the pickled carrots and cauliflower. I only had dill weed, so I hope it turns out. How did you like the pickled veggies? I made chicken paprikash for dinner (mom’s recipe).

  2. Hi Sumdance!

    I’m glad you headed over to the Smitten Kitchen and found some great recipes! My pickled veggies turned out great. I took some to work in my lunch today. DEElicious! A tuna sandwich on toasted olive bread, pickles and some chips. MMM MMMM Good!

    Chicken paprikash sounds great!

Leave a Reply

