A Little Food, Another Virtual Birthday Celebration and a Few Days Until the Roxie vs. Justopia Cook off!

Asian Inspired

img_5004.jpg

Gunpowder Chicken, Tumbleweed Shrimp (thank you for the cool title Kirstie!) and Steamed Rice

As I was walking home after work in the bitter cold tonight I was thinking how nice it would be to sit by the fireplace sipping some hot, spiced applie cider. No! Not spiked apple cider, but mulled cider. The kind heated up with spices of all kinds (cinnamon, juniper berries and more). But it was a Justopia.com regular’s birthday and after receiving a very generous contribution from Kirstie for her own birthday cake I knew I needed to head straight to the kitchen to make not only the cake (or in this case, cupcakes) that she requested and that sitting down after 6-plus hours on my feet would be a huge mistake, like it is on all nights after I’ve worked if I have any intention of being in the kitchen and broadcasting at 9pm.

img_5009.jpg

The longer I sit, the colder I get and the more my bones remind me that being on my feet all day running around at work is just not as easy as it was when I was a spry young thing. No, tonight I had to plunge right into the kitchen to do some prep work if there was going to be any chance at all of being upright and awake at broadcast time.

Worth Watching

img_5048.jpg

Chocolate Birthday Cupcakes

I checked into the network when I got up this morning and the top bar was made up mostly of channels that I’d never seen before or that I really had no interest in checking out either by the title as I hovered over the icon or by the looks of the icon itself, so I moved on.

I checked out USTREAM for a few minutes and saw the ECV promo floating by and saw that there were a few hundred live channels, but I needed to get ready for work, so I didn’t stay long.

Birthdays

img_5046.jpg

We’ve had our 2nd birthday celebration on Justopia.com as of this evening. Kirstie, formerly known as llkirstiebean was celebrating tonight and had requested a cake. She, in the same manner as Tenten, chipped in and contributed for a cake for her own birthday celebration. That’s pretty amazing.

img_5019.jpg

I got busy and made up a batch of cupcakes. I figured rather than bake a cake I would not get to finish before it began to turn stale, I might as well make something I could put in the freezer or package up for lunch for a few days.

img_5037.jpg

We all wished Kirstie a happy birthday, sang Happy Birthday and moved right on to Trivia. Suzuki_Wang one for the second time in a row. He’s going to be receiving a nice package with a set of hand carved chop sticks and a great little cookbook early next week.

I’m going to have to get out and get a current copy of Trivial Pursuit. Version I am using is over 20 years old and the questions are either not relevant enough for today or are actually out of date and can’t be used because they are no longer accurate. It looks like it’s time for me to make a run to Amazon to see if there is a used game for sale.

Cook off

img_5040.jpg

The first Justopia.com Iron Chef style cook off is scheduled to take place on Monday between The.Roxie and me and we are both looking forward to it. Be sure to tune in at 9pm Eastern Standard Time for the fun.

8 Responses

  1. Great stuff. I have a blog where I discuss food and cooking.

    Check it out at:

    http://www.zoknowsfood.wordpress.com

    Thanks.

  2. Hi Justopia,
    Now that meal looks DEElicious and something that I would like to cook.
    Any chance at some point getting the recipe for the chicken and shrimp?
    Peekers

  3. YAY! They’re so beautiful. Thanks for cooking last night. You really made my birthday extra special.

  4. I received my “Trivial Pursuit” prize in the mail yesterday. Is that the banana bread with Chocolate chips? Ir’s DEElish. Thanks.

  5. Oh my gosh Bkiff! I hope it wasn’t stale by the time you got it!! I guess the holiday really held things up. 😦 If it is not totally fresh, you can put it in the oven for a few to “toast” it up. The chips will start to melt and it will get softened up again. MMMMM sounds sooo good! 🙂

  6. Kirstie,

    Glad you liked them — from afar. 🙂 The entire dinner was really nice and we had fun once again at Justopia.com. Hope your birthday was a great one!

  7. Hey Peekers,

    Yes! I will post both recipes. Look for them soon.

  8. Hello thetruth,

    Thanks for stopping by and reading and for the comment. I’ll check out your blog as well.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

