Mods Again, ECV Returns to the .TV world and Catching up on Recipes

Long Time

img_4957.jpg

Brie en Croute prior to baking

So, it’s been a long time since we’ve talked about the JTV moderator program and how pissed off it makes me — in some rooms. Now that I have my own broadcast I can understand how easily mistakes can be made, but I don’t understand how some broadcasters allow for so much subjectivity.

I was in iJustine’s room this morning for a little while and watched as Justine did some house keeping and packing. The room was tame compared to what used to go on in there with her adoring fans, but the mod situation was the same. Anything lacking a positive, smiling tone warranted banning. I’ve got a few words for that – No the best choice of viewer management if you want to keep your audience and keep them happy. So what if someone speaks in caps for a few lines? So what if some states that they are hungry in 3 different lines in 3 different ways so that they can beat out rate limiting? If you ignore them, either by using the ignore feature on JTV or by just simply pretending they aren’t there, they will go away, but kicking or banning someone for this is just immature subjectivity.

I’m kind of sick of the argument though so it’s time to move on.

EastCoastVegas Live

While not on JTV, ECV was back on the airwaves tonight, although not on JTV — rather, he was on USTREAM. The show consisted of JTV talk and there was no video at this point, but the fans seemed very happy to have the comedy of the EastCoastVegas show back tonight. The room was full of chatters. It seems EastCoast was able to draw his fan base right over to USTREAM without missing a beat. I listened for quite a while, but had to get on the ball with my commitment to posting recent recipes, so I will have to listen in tomorrow night to hear more.

Recipes

Below are a number of recent recipes. I ask that you have some flexibility with this. I am not a professional chef and unless I am baking I cook from recipes if I haven’t committed the ingredients and processes to memory, so I am making estimates on sizes and measurements and steps when writing in retrospect. For the most part, these should all work out just fine, but if you see something that doesn’t look right as you are putting the dishes together, alter it to suit your needs.

Cole Slaw

  • 1 Bag shredded or chopped cabbage or 1 small cabbage, chopped or shredded
  • 1 Small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 Carrot shredded or chopped
  • 1 Bell pepper (any color, but I prefer the sweeter red or yellow), finely chopped
  • 1/2 Cup mayonnaise
  • 1/4 Cup vinegar
  • 2 Tablespoons sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon celery seeds
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

In a mixing or serving bowl, whisk the mayonnaise and vinegar together. Add sugar, celery seeds, salt and pepper until combined. Add the vegetables and stir to combine thoroughly and let sit in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours before serving. Toss before serving.

Cream of Mushroom Soup

img_4943.jpg

Cream of Mushroom Soup and Salad

  • 2 lbs. Mushrooms – I use fresh and dried mushrooms. If using dried mushrooms, re-hydrate according to package directions before continuing
  • 1 Small leek, white and light green only, cleaned well and sliced into very thin rounds
  • 2 Cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 Cup butter – unsalted
  • 1/4 Cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 Cups chicken stock – low or no salt
  • 1 -3/4 cups Beef stock – low or no salt
  • 1/4 Cup Marsala wine adds a touch of sweetness
  • 1/8 Cup white wine
  • 1 cup Heavy cream
  • Croutons for garnish
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Heat butter and oil on medium heat in a saucepan or stockpot that you will continue cooking the soup in. Once heated, add the mushrooms. After about 5 minutes, add onion and garlic. Cook another 5 minutes, taking care not to let the onions or garlic get too dark. Once the mushrooms and onions have given off a fair amount of moisture, remove 1 cup of the mixture to a small bowl and set aside. Add the wine. Cook off some of the alcohol and reduce the liquid by about 1/3 (3 – 5 minutes). Add the chicken and beef stock and stir. Bring to a boil. Once boiling, reduce heat to a simmer and let cook, stirring frequently for 20 minutes.

Take the pot off the stove and add the cream, stirring to combine thoroughly. Return to the stove on medium heat and stir constantly until the soup has thickened. At this point, it is time to blend the soup to a smooth, creamy consistency. You may use any kind of blending device available. A hand-held emulsion blender is most convenient, but a food processor or blender will work just as well.

Coarsely chop the mushrooms you have set aside and add to the soup when done for added texture. Ladle into bowls, adding croutons as desired for a bit of crunch.

Pulled Pork Barbecue

  • 2 lbs. Pork Shoulder, cut to fit into crock pot or other slow cooking vessel
  • Dry rub mixture of the following seasonings to thickly coat the pork
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Brown Sugar
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Paprika
  • 1/2 Cup wine vinegar
  • Water to just cover the meat
  • Barbecue sauce of choice to cover and flavor finished pork

Cook in crock pot or slow cook on the stove for 8 hours. If using a stovetop method cover the pot and be sure to check every 20 – 30 minutes to ensure the moisture has not cooked off too much. You will want to keep the meat covered in liquid throughout the cooking process.

Check the pork to see if it falls apart when a fork is inserted into the meat. When done, pull the pork apart by using two forks and working in opposite directions. Once all of the pork has been pulled, place it in a ceramic baking pan. Pour desired barbecue sauce over pork and place pan in oven at 350º for about 45 minutes, or just to cook through with the sauce and to create some crunchy bits.

Once done, the pork barbecue is ready for serving and when cooled, can be stored in the freezer.

Potato Salad Mediterranean Style

  • 1 Potato, boiled and tender
  • 1/2 Onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 Egg, quartered
  • 2 Sprigs parsley
  • 1/4 Cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 Tablespoons vinegar or lemon juice
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Place olive oil in bowl. Whisk in vinegar or juice until thickened. Add salt and pepper and combine.

Compose salad on a plate. Place the potatoes first adding the rest of the ingredients in layers. Dress the salad.

Brie en Croute

  • Puff Pastry Dough
  • Ripe Brie Cheese
  • 1 Egg, slightly beaten
  • 1 Teaspoon Water

Roll dough large enough to cover cheese with a slight overlap. Encase the cheese in the dough and seal to prevent cheese from leaking out. Whisk egg and water to create egg wash and brush over pastry-enclosed brie before putting into a 350º oven for 20 minutes, or until golden brown.
Banana Bread with a Chocolate Chip Twist

img_4937.jpg

  • 3 – 4 Ripe bananas
  • 1/4 Cup melted butter
  • 1 Cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 Cups flour
  • 1/4 Teaspoon salt
  • 2 Egg, beaten
  • 1 Teaspoon baking soda
  • 8 Oz. Semisweet chocolate chips
  • 3/4 Cups chopped pecans or walnuts reserving 1/4 cup for top of bread

img_4939.jpg
Add Bananas to electric mixer and mix until bananas are mashed, but with some chunks remaining. Add remaining ingredients at the same time and mix until thoroughly blended. Add chocolate chips and stir into batter adding nuts at the end..

Butter a loaf pan and pour in batter. Add reserved 1/4 cup of chopped nuts to the top of the bread before placing on a baking pan in a preheated 350º oven for 55 – 60 minutes or until a toothpick stuck in the middle of the bread comes out clean. DEElicious!

Blue Cheese Gougeres – Cream Puffs

img_4995.jpg

  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon Essence, recipe follows
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 4 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1/4 pound blue cheese, or other creamy blue cheese
  • 1 Tablespoon Paprika
  • 1 Tablespoon Oregano
  • 2 Teaspoons Oregano
  • 2 Teaspoons Thyme
  • 1 Teaspoon Cayenne Pepper

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

img_4981.jpg

In a large saucepan, combine the milk, butter, salt, black pepper, spices and seasonings over medium-high heat. Bring to a boil, and then remove from the heat. Add the flour, and stir constantly with a large wooden spoon to incorporate, about 1 minute. Return to medium-high heat and cook, stirring constantly, for 1 minute. Remove from the heat and add the eggs 1 at a time, beating well after each addition. Add the cheese and beat until mixed well and a slightly soft dough forms.

Pipe the dough through a pastry bag onto a the parchment paper lined baking sheet. Bake for 10 minutes, then reduce the temperature to 350º degrees F, and bake until golden brown, about 20 to 25 minutes.

If desired, you can pipe various fillings into the gougeres. Salmon mousse would be a DEElicious addition.

8 Responses

  1. Mmmm. I must try some of these recipes… especially the cream of mushroom soup.

    About the mods, actually, I was upset about being timed out once on your channel. I was very frustrated with justopia.com because it wouldn’t let me sign in. The reason I’d gone over there was to closed caption for Mcoy. It was just a total mess and not working for me (although it usually does now). I still can’t use that old screenname (LLKirstieBean) in justopia.com, so I use KIRSTIE. Anyway, someone suggested that we go over to justopia.com and I frustratingly exclaimed “I hate justopia.com.” It had nothing to do with you… it was the dis-ease of use, the frustration, etc. I am used to it now and prefer most aspects of it. But, anyway, modjason gave me a 10 minute time out for that. 😦 It added to my already annoyed mood.

    Do you have a local farmer’s market? You could totally hold a stand one day a week and sell your food. We’d be sure to visit you. I don’t know how safe you’d feel having a tangible location, but honestly, if someone were out to stalk you they could visit all the Williams and Sonoma in your area. :-/ I think you’re a low candidate for collecting weirdo fans.

  2. Hiya Kirstie,

    I’m sorry you were banned like that. I think there is frustration on both sides of the Justopia.com screen. We (and I mostly mean ChannelZ) work so hard to have a site that is more interactive and isolated from some of what goes on at JTV and then people mostly complain about it, but I try to suck it up and let it roll off my shoulder. I did not know Modjason had modding abilities, but I will check into it. We haven’t seen him around in a while either. I do not want any mods that are minors so I need to correct that. Also, I will get that IP ban removed so that you can come back as llkirstiebean. I don’t know if it will be today, but after the holiday I can ask ChannelZ to help. I am not so good at IRC commands. 😦 Cooking I can do, some of this stuff challenges me. LOL

    Thanks for the Farmer’s Market suggestion. We do have one in the summer so I will have to check it out. And yeah, I am not really worried about anyone stalking me. When I first launched the broadcast I had threatening phone calls, but I seem to have taken care of that so all is good.

  3. Thanks for the recipes. I am going to try the blue cheese puffs.
    The Bloody Mary soup you made last night looked good too. I watched it on the archives this morning.

  4. Threatening phone calls? Wow. “You can’t cook! Stop it with this nutmeg sh*t or I’ll beat you over your head with your all clad!” Hehehe.

    He didn’t ban me. It was just a time out. On Justopia.com, however, it tells me my password is wrong. :-/ I don’t mind. I like being KIRSTIE…especially because I was randomly sellected to be purple… my favorite color. 😀

  5. Yeah, it was the middle of the night calls that got annoying too. Well, I am glad you like purple. Imagine if you hated it? 🙂 LOL

  6. Hey Sumdance,

    I hope you like the blue cheese puffs, they were good and I really liked the soup. I think I will make that again tonight since I have a bit of the tomatoes left in the fridge. 🙂

  7. I thought it was particularily IRONIC that ECV made his uStream
    debut with NO VIDEO. I laugh and laugh every time East Coast Vegas
    and his gang say they are leaving Justin.TV. Webcasting isn’t new, what
    Justin.TV has is both a technological edge and superior content. ECV
    is funny, but sometimes he goes evil on people for no reason. Someone,
    someday soon, is going to become the NEXT DAVID LETTERMAN of
    the .TV universe. ECV? Maybe someone else? Who knows, but I know
    SOMETHING IS COMING.

    Just my 2 cent prediction…………watch the future at my website:
    http://www.BusinessCardOfTheFuture.TV

    Send me your embed code and a reason to use it.
    MadStudios30620@gmail.com

    FOR THE RECORD – IM ON STRIKE!!! WHERES MY SONY LAPTOP?!?!

  8. Hi Scott,

    I don’t know what will become of JTV is more broadcasters take a hike, but I am not seeing anything at USTREAM that is superior to JTV in terms of the stability of the network, etc.

    It will be interesting to see how things evolve.

Leave a Reply

