Rebroadcasting and Fake Broadcasting

Wrestling to the End

ECV has been gone for weeks now and there apparently has been an announcement that he will be moving to USTREAM. I wonder if the law of diminishing returns might be against him though in terms of who will follow him over. It is going to be very interesting to watch to see how the transition plays out.

We saw something interesting, although not so much fun if you ask me. A lifecaster was dressed up like ECV and was trying to do an ECV style show with the schtick and comedy that ECV has provided on JTV for a number of months now. I’m not sure how successful he was, but I’d imagine he will have another go at it tomorrow so we will see how many people return for an encore.

Copyright Infringement?

Someone made note that iJustine was in a bar and was rebroadcasting a mixed martial arts match that was being played on PayPerView. While I could care less about sports, especially a sport that involves sweaty guys flipping and flopping all over each other, the turmoil that iJustine’s camera being pointed at the television monitor for a little while caused quite a bit of JTV drama tonight.

I don’t know if she realized what she was doing. If she did, I am not sure what she hoped to gain from it, but I was in her room a couple of hours earlier when she was saying it was a Saturday night and she had nothing to do and needed to think of something fun.

I don’t know about you , but for some reason I just don’t see Justine scratching her head and saying – “GEE! I just thought of something terribly fun to do tonight. I want to go to a mixed martial arts match and take my lifecasting setup and rebroadcast it illegally! Yeah, that’s a great way to spend my Saturday night

I left to do my broadcast, but by the time I came back she was headed into the bar and I headed to other channels. When I heard the flap about her rebroadcasting and how people wanted her banned, that caught my attention and I stuck it out on the ECV impersonator’s channel and watched as people offered all kinds of opinions about what is and is not legal to broadcast while lifecasting. I, for one, do not believe it is legal to broadcast music that you do not have express permission to broadcast even if you did pay for the CD or Single. My understanding is that this does not give you permission to do anything other than listen to it yourself or to make copies for yourself.

Playing it on JTV is rebroadcasting the music and it is not legal. I have used music for my podcasts, but as was explained to me, the law allows for broadcast of 15 seconds or less or when you have permission. I use PodsafeAudio.com and Apple’s GarageBand demo music for these purposes. I think the law is a bit confusing and it might help if the Terms of Service were a bit more specific to mitigate mistakes in broadcasting.

What I did find interesting was that people were going into iJustine’s room to report her, but she never dropped off the bar leading people to speculate about whether she has some kind of JTV protection. Today, at 2am, it’s just not that important to me. We have seen other lifecasters broadcast PPV sports events and either not be shut down to return after being shut down. Rehashing something for long stretches of time is boring. So I move on.

Should it be permitted, probably not. Should a lifecaster make it his mission to go on and on about the issue well after the person broadcasting the illegal content has ceased? No, probably not. But, like everything else with JTV, we have the ultimate power — we can close our browsers and move on.

2 Responses

  1. As much as I agree that it’s illegal, I still enjoy when people do their songs and dancing to copyrighted music. I really enjoyed Arnaud dancing to Britney Spears’ “Gimme Gimme.”

    Here’s a good link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kohlberg%27s_stages_of_moral_development

    Have you ever studied Kohlberg’s stages of moral development? I take a stage five and/or six stance on this. I know it’s considered wrong in the eyes of the law, but I disagree with the law, so I therefore say “do it.” And, most people agree that it’s fun and not meant to harm anyone or rip off any of the hard working, diamond showered artists. Of course, each situation would be evaluated individually. I may revert to a stage four if I believe the person is trying to gain monetary gain from their rebroadcast.

  2. I have not studied Kohlberg, but will take a look. Most of my friends seem to take the same stance as you. I am the one out in left field on this stuff most of the time. Thanks for the link.

Leave a Reply

