Good Cookin’

What’s Next?

img_4907.jpg

Yesterday after putting together the cassoulet I realized I had far too much pork shoulder leftover and needed to think something to do with the remaining pork that I had cut into 3/4″ pieces. That was easy. I pulled out the small Rival Crock Pot and put the pork in with cider vinegar, brown sugar, paprika, garlic, salt pepper, and onion and a bit of water and let it cook over a period of 8 hours. I pulled it out of the crock and let it cool so that I could do something with it for dinner tonight. The result was pulled pork barbecue.

img_4908.jpg

And it made one wonderful sandwich on a potato roll with home made cole slaw and a potato salad with eggs and tomatoes. Wow, was it ever a DEElicious justopia.com dinner, but that wasn’t the end of it. Before the broadcast was over, we were back in the kitchen whipping up a DEElicious Chocolate Chip Banana Bread. If you weren’t there, you missed out!

img_4911.jpg

I don’t normally like using silicone pans for baking, but I made sure the oven was preheated to the proper temperature and kept an eye on things so that it didn’t come out too early or too late. The result — a DEElicious treat. It is so easy. As a matter of fact, the entire meal was easy.

img_4917.jpg

I am finally going to be able to catch up on posting some of the recent recipes and will be putting together a New Years Eve menu that I will broadcast on Sunday. We’ll do some nice finger foods that you can create for your own party this coming week.

img_4929.jpg

Oh, and did I say how much I love the snowfall that the WordPress guys created for the holiday season this year? I would love to see it or some other animation continue after January 2, but that is the date the snow is going to melt and go away. I wonder if we will have some animated hearts for Valentine’s Day and what do we have in store for President’s Day, do I dare ask?

New Fan

I am a new Paula Dean convert. Actually, very new. After the broadcast tonight I tuned into the FoodNetwork and Pauls was on with a Fire and Ice episode. It was a great show — so much better than hopping channels in JTV for a night. She had Dorothy Hammel on first. I have not seen the gold medal olympic skater in years and have to say that she looks incredible. She is a year older than me and looks 10 years younger! Then a couple of guys called Fear No Ice performed ice sculpture carving in a very entertaining way to music. They work swiftly and with great skill and it is a bit scary to watch with chain saws blazing. They carved out the Paula Dean’s Party logo in a few minutes flat. The next segment was a fire segment and a guy that eats fire was the guest. She finished with Ben & Jerry’s and a couple of flavors that were inspired by some of her recipes.

img_4928.jpg

One of the guys from Fear no Ice was invited up to the stage and he brought salad plates made from ice with him to which he added a salad with a really cool dressing which I plan to create for tomorrow night’s broadcast. He made a dressing from a frozen vinaigrette. I like my salad cool and crisp, and this seems like a perfect twist. I can’t wait.

img_4925.jpg

In all, I am happy that I turned on the tube tonight and my plan is to wake up and turn on the FoodNetwork to get inspiration for he week’s menus.

3 Responses

  1. Justopia,
    That dinner really looked great tonight. You mentioned posting recipes, I really hope you include everything you made tonight. Thanks for all the work you do broadcasting for us and writing your blog. I enjoy them both.

  2. Hi Lorelei,

    Thanks for stopping by. I will be posing the recipes, it will just take me a little time. It was so DEElicious!

  3. Hey, I’m in the picture saying “cheese.” 🙂

    I wish I was able to stick around to watch you finish the banana bread. It’s too bad I always work at 0700.

Leave a Reply

