Where Do I Find This Guy?

Question

img_4790.jpg

Seared tuna, Chinese long beans and home made no-knead bread

I have a multi part question — Who planned planned obsolescence and did he/she have a plan for avoiding the lynch mob that would go after him as his plan was executed or if things became obsolete well before planned? I want answers to these questions.

I bought this home just over 6 years ago. It was brand-spanking new. I actually signed the contract for it three years earlier. Yes, it took that long for it to be completed. It’s a “high rise” condominium building and it took a year longer than planned. No big deal, I wasn’t living in the US anyway and it was a really great thing that I was living 10,000 miles away and not able to drive by and watch as every nook, cranny and corner was put up, but what I didn’t get to see was the quality of construction.

img_4786.jpg

Ok, so NO! I would not have been able to tell the difference between good and shoddy construction, but I would have believed I would have known the difference. I also did not get to participate in determining what upgrades I wanted or color of tiles, fireplace surround, kitchen appliances, etc.  Again, not a problem.  My parents were happy to drive down, go to the model, pick the stuff out and get me on the phone to approve. It turned out GREAT!  I love it here. But I am not happy today.

A year ago — Exactly to the week — the dishwasher stopped working. What a drag. I had just been laid off after 12 years at AOL and I did not feel like springing for a new dishwasher at that point, so I waited. A few months later, after a lot of hand washed pots, pans and dishes I replaced the old one. Ok, so I was not happy that after just 5 years the dishwasher decided to take a walk, but I figured things happen and didn’t go off the deep end about it. Instead, I kicked myself for letting the maintenance program lapse on the kitchen appliances while living in Argentina. My bad.

So where is this leading you ask?

img_4776.jpg

Today, I woke up to a cell phone that, although plugged into the charger all night, was dead as a doorstop. I couldn’t pick up my Twitter Tweets on the phone.  Ack!  I tried everything but nothing worked. This was a replacement to the original phone which I bought a year ago after it stopped working a few months ago. Verizon replaced the phone without question or problem and I figured all was well.

Um, no so much. I took this one to Verizon and it turns out the charger was the problem, so for more $$ I purchased a replacement. Ugh. Surely a charger was built to last more than 12 months?

As if that was not enough, I decided to make a no-knead bread dough last night. It’s mixed and placed into a bowls overnight to rise in the warmest part of the kitchen. Usually that is an oven that is turned off. I got the dough done just before heading off to bed and woke up excited to bake it off. I haven’t baked bread in 20 years and was excited at the prospect of the smell of yeast filling the corners of the kitchen. I preheated the oven, put the bread into a pot as instructed and waited for the oven to come up to temperature. Nothing! No heat! It was barely warm! I was in a panic! I had concerns that there was something not quite right two nights ago when I made the DEElicious Pinwheel Rugelach. They took far longer than they should have and I ended up turning the oven to convection to get them done.

img_4785.jpg

The best part of this bread is the incredibly crunchy crust

That same night my refrigerator was humming very loudly and I just crossed my fingers and hoped it would not be on it’s way out as well. When I realized I had no working oven this morning I began to think of alternative ways to plan meals. All stove top cooking is possible, but not a great idea. A Cuisinart broiler/griller/convection oven is a good alternative and I’ve lived that way before overseas, but I don’t want to live that way in my own home.

What was going on? Are appliances now constructed to work for only 5 or 6 years before they break down? It seems like highway robbery to me! I know that things like light bulbs and automobile tires and many other things were designed with a limited life in mind, but seriously — FIVE or SIX years for my kitchen appliances?!

Where is Mr. Planned Obselescence? I want to have a conversation with that guy! NOW!

And what does this have to do with JTV?  Well, nothing really.  I doubt the fratboys would put any plans in place to make JTV obslete.  Actually it’s highly unlikely they would want JTV to ever become obsolete!

2 Responses

  1. Hmmmm. Maybe Justin and Company will spring for a new oven for you. After all, you do have the cokking show on j.tv. Whattya think? 😉

  2. Great idea! What do you think? Shoul I send Justin and the boys email or maybe pop into Justin’s channel and ask nicely? Somehow I don’t see it happening. LOL

Leave a Reply

