Writer’s Block

Prompts Please

img_4617.jpg

As you know, for weeks the blog has been pretty weak. I’ve lost my blogging mojo. The lack of things to rant about has left me high and dry, without a creative word in my bones so I took last night off and a night earlier in the week, hoping that the the mojo would return. But alas, it has not happened. So … I was in iTed’s room and asked for a writers’ prompt. You know, where someone makes up the beginning of a story and I finish it in 500 words or less? I needed something to help me and this is what he came up with:

Imagine Justin.tv has died an untimely death. You can no longer broadcast, nor can you sit around on your butt watching your favorite, or despised channels. Your 2D friends and you have never exchanged real information about each other, so you have no way to get in contact with each other. Write a eulogy to JTV in 500 words or less?”

img_4612.jpg

So here goes …

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times. No! No! No! This is not a tale of two cities. There is no Madame Defarge sitting in the bastille knitting each unique JTV user-name into a scarf to send to Justin to drape around his neck as he heads out onto the streets of San Francisco in the chilly winter air.

This is a tribute to a part of life that has captured the hearts and minds of at least 1500 loyal viewers who kept coming back day after day after day after … well, you get the picture. As some left, new viewers found their way to the place where we wiped our feet, knocked on the door and dropped our sanity in the little bowl on the hall table and walked into a world we could not have imagined.

img_4624.jpg

Chicken Marsala and Tomato, Onion and Cilantro Bruschetta

Together, Justin Kan, Emmet Shear, Kyle Vogt, and Michael Seibel collectively managed to hijack at least part of my brain one April morning and have yet to give it back. Now that the entity is gone and we are, all of us, in mourning, there is no turning back. There will be no return of the gray matter I once had that controlled my willpower. No longer do I have the ability to look at the clock and think, “Gee, it’s 11:30 at night, I should get up and get ready to go to bed now.”

What these men of Yale and MIT succeeded in doing was nothing short of remarkable. They dragged me from out of work TV-watching, felted purse knitting couch potato to lifecasting, food-photographing, blogging couch potato and lifecaster in a flash. Their control over me was so all-knowing, so powerful that I instantly fell in love with what they had produced and without looking back I dove head first into the pool.

img_4625.jpg

No more would I see the world in the way it once looked, a place of comfort and refuge. No, now my world was a sea of words and thoughts on a computer screen, clacked out each day, sometimes for 24 hours at a time as I connected with the world on the other side of the monitor.

With JTV gone, what’s next? Sure, I’ve virtually “met” and made friends with some incredible people, but chances are I will never meet a single one of them. We know so much, yet so very little about each other, and yet we are all mourning a loss together today as our community quickly withers away.

JTV, you have been my soul, my support, my light and my darkness since April 21, almost 8 months of highs, lows, laughter and tears and I will miss you. This revolution you created will be with me always. It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go to than I have ever known.

Thank Goodness!

spooky-loves-justopiacom.jpg

Thanks Spooks! My lifecasting and chatting friend! πŸ™‚

This was just a writer’s prompt. There’s nothing factual about what you’ve read above in terms of JTV’s health or mortality. It is still alive and kicking, but iTed, thank you for the prompt. It was the perfect jarring I needed to help me find the creative, right-brain side of my soul.

5 Responses

  1. Justopia,

    Great post!

    Unrelated – I have a request from your or from anyone else who reads this blog. If anyone lives in a snowy climate or if its snowing where they live, could the position their webcam outside so we who live in warmer climates can look at our screens as if we are looking outside the window. Thank you!

  2. I ran for Mayor Of Bethlehem Ga 30620 and it did not please the
    ‘powers that be’. Ever heard ‘You can’t fight City Hall’? I was surrounded
    by police 24/7, had difficulty making and recieving phone calls, strange
    things happened to my emails. Such is the life of a Freedom Fighter
    since 9/11 with the wonderful folks at Homeland Security and the local
    bluecoats. I escaped my town to go visit this girl I know. If it wasn’t
    for Justin.TV the world may have never known……
    http://www.justin.tv/walsh1/51165/Joanne

    Help Bring Ron Paul Home For The Holidays To BethlehemGA30620.Net

    Scott Walsh
    Candidate For Mayor Of Bethlehem 2007
    http://www.mayor.BethlehemGA30620.net
    202-683-8569 (my new Google phone number, contact me for invite to the beta program)

    scott@BethlehemGA30620.net

  3. The point being……Justin.TV saved my life. It was only the fact that
    they were aware I had been broadcasting and that I had a channel
    that made them release me as quickly as they did. When I got out
    I was so worn out and aching that I ate aspirin after aspirin and there
    was little chance of me attending the Candidate Forum at The Colleen
    O’Williams Theatre(still havent managed to get a copy of the tape
    from the local cable company WCTV-24 or the Barrow County Chamber
    Of Commerce). They got up on stage and announced that the incumbent
    Sandy McNab was running unopposed. They printed the same on the
    front page of our local paper, The Barrow County News. I basically
    sat the election out and let things run their natural course. My family
    refuses to look at my channel on Justin.TV while others at JTV are using
    their channels to spend time with their families over the holidays. East
    Coast Vegas cracks me up. Laughter is good medicine. I have no TV and
    the only radio station I get is the local one. Lifecasting and dry chat can
    get boring. Thankfully, we have funny people who work hard to keep us
    entertained. JTV has had many technical issues, especially as of late,
    but still it was the first and will always be #1 in my heart. While I am exploring
    many new interesting broadcast platforms, let no one doubt when Michael
    and Justin and Emmett and Kyle and the crew call on me, I will be there for
    them with everything I got. UNITED WE STAND, DIVIDED WE FALL.
    And, for the record, I dont care about the top bar, nor do I care if noone
    ever sees my website. I do it for myself, and for the enjoyment of all who
    want to partake. I hope you find something you like and I am all open to
    suggestions and assistance to make it even better.

  4. Thanks PCEASY!

    I may just need a writer’s prompt every night. πŸ™‚

    I will be happy to leave my laptop pointed at the snow — IF we ever get any this winter. We had about 2 inches last week, but I am hoping for a really really good storm this year! Not likely, but I live in hope. πŸ™‚

    Justy

  5. Wow, that’s some story, Scott. Thanks for taking the time reading my blog and for commenting.

Leave a Reply

