What’s Cookin’?

Viewer Participation

I think most of us agree that what makes JTV stand apart from broadcast television is the ability to interact with the broadcaster and the other viewers while a channel is live. And I have seen this evolve. We have seen viewers create artwork for lifecasters and some have created fan sites. Some create signs for their favorite channel(s) and others have created blogs and Facebook sites. Anthony Quintano of Quintano_media has begun creating great banner and background art for some channels and I have just received my first set of photos from a viewer that recreated a few of the dishes I made last week. She was so inspired by the outcome of the Yorkshire Pudding I put together the other day that she whipped it up the following evening. I give Tm1nor an A+ for her enthusiasm and effort and for the her success in putting together beautiful looking popovers and prime rib and risotto. Great job T!

img_0504.jpg

Wow T1minor — a double batch! Looks DEElicious!

Now, for all of you that have tried your hand at one of the recipes we’ve put together on the show, it’s time to pull out the camera and start documenting your great work and sharing it with us!

The Trick

img_4174.jpg

Tortilla Soup

I finally figured out how to get my channel up and running on the first try. I clear my cache, then click on the debug link and launch the broadcast and voila! I am live and with sound! Tonight the broadcast was fairly stable as well. It didn’t crash and from what I see in the archives, it was just a bit choppy. I think I saw it buffer a few times, but all in all, compared to last night, it made for a much smoother cooking session and after looking over the archives to highlight the soup making, I could clearly see a happier, more calm Justopia broadcasting tonight no matter what may have been going on around me. πŸ™‚

img_4178.jpg

Don’t forget to check the schedule to see what time I will be broadcasting and for what is on the menu. I am also including links (in TinyURL format) for the recipes. These links will usually take you to Epicurious.com or FoodTV.com when the recipes are published, but for my own recipes I will have to sit down and type them up, like the Tortilla soup recipe below:

img_4179.jpg

This recipe is for 2 servings

  • 6 Cups chicken broth – you can use home made or canned. If using canned, use low sodium and/or organic
  • 2Cups canned diced tomatoes with juice
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder( or to taste)
  • 1 teaspoon cumin powder
  • 1 avocado coarsely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon red or green hot sauce or 1 diced jalapeno pepper
  • 3 tablespoons sour cream
  • 2 tablespoons diced onion
  • 6 corn tortillas cut into strips — fry 3 of them for topping the soup, the strips of the other 3 go into the soup raw
  • 1 cup shredded Cheddar or Monterey Jack cheese
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/3 cup chopped cilantro
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 chicken breasts cooked and cut into bite sized pieces

Put the broth into a sauce pan and heat through. Once heated, add the tomatoes and juice. Add seasonings and pepper and bring to a boil. Add chicken. Once boiling, reduce heat and let simmer for 5 minutes. Meanwhile, stir the cilantro into the sour cream and set aside.

img_4178.jpg

To Plate it up:

Place 1/2 of the cheese in both bowls, then add diced onions. Ladle the soup into each bowl and layer with avocado, fried tortilla strips and a dollup of cilantro sour cream.

12 Responses

  1. You say to stir in the cilantro into the sour cream. You have listed a 3 Tbsp of sour cream and a 1/2 cup of sour cream. Which one of these do you stir it into? Then, what do you do with the other quantity of sour cream?

  2. Oops, forgot to mention that it sounds yummy, and it looks great in the picture.

  3. OMG! WOWza! Ok that soup looks so incredibly delicious I can’t stand it! I can so easily visualize all the flavors mixing together in your succulent suspension! Uh oh I think I just had an orgasm in my mouth! Oops that was to quick! I can’t believe I missed this ! I have to admit I was like tortilla soup go hum but after seeing the outcome my significant other has mandated that I make this this weekend or else! Yeah your messages are too kind! See how bad its gotten so many days of suckiness and frustration that you are so greatful for one night without the kinks! I’m glad you think you’ve tackled your tech problems! I will knock on wood! Oh yeah whats up with the top bar channel pics? Buns, wieners, and watermelons! I got so embarrassed last night showing off the site last night! Can wait to see what you have scared up for tonight! Wishing you a Happy Halloweenie! Ok maybe hold the weenies!

  4. Oh my gosh Carrot! I just looked over the recipe and see my mistake! Thanks for bringing it to my attention. That’s what I get for creating the written form of my recipes at 2 in the morning.

    It should have read 3 Tablespoons of sour cream (not Cups). It’s really just personal preference, so more or less is not a problem, but all that extra sour cream would have been an issue. It would have been more like “Too Sour Cream of Tortilla Soup. I thought about what I put on my soup last night and it was about 1.5 tablespoons. I noted that the recipe serves 2, so that’s 1.5 tablespoons per person.

    Oh boy! I can’t wait for lunch — Tortilla Soup leftovers!! πŸ™‚

  5. Hi Girlbytes,

    I’m glad you got to see the finished product, because it truly was a DEElicious soup! I have been making it for more than 20 years and came up with the recipe after having had it for the first time at a restaurant. I have no idea where I was, Mexico perhaps, and came home and recreated it to the best of my ability. I have since been trying tortilla soup often when I see it on a menu and this combo of home made chicken stock and added tomatoes is just what I was looking for.

    I have no idea what’s up with the Channel Bar. Things seem to be going from bad to worse in the past few days, don’t they? Maybe last night’s boobs and wiener people thought they were being clever. :/

  6. Wow! those yorkshire puddings looks good and amusing to look at at the same time, since they flop over like some kind of cartoon character.

    The soup looks good and refreshing, it is full of fresh ingredients, I should try to make it, since I have all those ingredients at my house, but I am not in the mood for mexican (at least I think its mexican). However, if I decide to make it, I would probably leave the tortillas out, I am not a big fan of tortillas… 😦 , but then I will be missing the key ingredient of the tortilla soup then—wouldnt I?… O wellz. .

    Speaking of making recipes, I tried out the lasagna with bechamel sauce for my family, and I must say it was very good, much better than the version with ricotta, since it is not as heavy (even though this version has a higher fat content πŸ™‚ ). I took some liberties with your recipe though, just to make it look much more appetizing, have a larger portion, and cater to the flavors I like. I had to be very careful though since my family likes to eat with their eyes and nose first… I must say we were very pleased with the lasagna, since I made two large lasagnas, and 1 1/2 of the lasagna was gone by days end. Thanks for introducing me to bechamel onto the lasagna, otherwise I would have always used it as a base sauce for other things instead of lasagna. Too bad I cannot take a picture of it… the lasagna that is…

    Thanks for the food inspirations Justopia, helping one dinner at a time πŸ™‚

  7. Hey Justopia

    i love seeing my picture on your blog ! yay! too bad i couldnt get on to see you make the soup but I will be testing out a few recipes from your blog.

    See ya tonight , if youre on

  8. Hi T!

    I’m glad you stopped in and saw your photos. I’ll be on at 9pm EDT making a couple of Halloween Treats. Hope I don’t get beat up on too badly for not wearing a costume. πŸ™‚

  9. Hurricane

    introduction
    Passion fruit syrup can be difficult to find. Because the syrup is hard to come by (and artificially flavored) use a substitute for it that is well received: a tablespoon of passion fruit sorbet (HΓ€agen Dazs makes one) and a teaspoon of grenadine, per serving.

    serving size
    Serves 1.

    ingredients
    1 ounce light rum
    1 ounce dark rum
    1 tablespoon passion fruit syrup
    Juice of 1/2 lime
    1 teaspoon superfine sugar, or to taste
    Ice cubes

    preparation

    Mix all ingredients except ice in shaker. Stir to dissolve sugar. Add ice cubes, shake well, and strain mixture into a cocktail glass.

  10. Hi mkaye!

    Thank you for stopping in last night and for the help! This recipe looks great. I am going to have to make this another night though. I did not get to the store today and I don’t have all the ingredients, but it sounds really good. I am excited about the Jambalaya! Hope to “see” you tonight.

  11. Hey!
    I made the tortilla soup last night for my parents and myself. And they said it came out really good! And it was my first time in the kitchen too (well doing something a little complex). So thanks so much for sharing your recipes with all of us. I hope to keep cooking as the days roll by and add it to my list of skills. You are the best. πŸ˜€
    Romina Espinosa

  12. Romina,

    I’m so happy to hear that the soup recipe worked out so well for you … well done! I worked today and will be working tomorrow, so we will just make a sandwich tonight and relax tomorrow night, but Sunday we will cook up something good for a Sunday night dinner in the cool weather.

    See you in Justopia! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

