A “Mad Men” Marathon and Recess is Over

Vacation?

justopia-rocks-3.jpg

Gotta love Nicole44. She made a sign last week which I posted, but it was pretty small so she recreated it in a larger size and I captured it this morning. She’s always so perky and happy. 🙂 Thanks Nicole44!

Was it a vacation or just a short-lived stint in rehab? I didn’t spend more than 20 minutes watching anything on JTV and spent ZERO minutes writing. I worked both days and while it’s good to be out of the house working with people again, it’s backbreaking work (at least at this point) and I have so much to learn so it’s a bit stressful. But it was good not to have to worry about spending time navigating the JTV waters to find interesting material to write about and to be able to get to bed before the sun comes up.

Mad Men

For a change, I did finally hunker down to watch some previously recorded Broadcast Television on my DVR this morning after my company departed and watched a couple of episodes of Mad Men which I have been recording, but have not taken the time to watch. I am happy that I have the season on the DVR because it sucked me in right from the beginning. If you haven’t heard about the show, I recommend you head out to the link behind the title above and do some reading. Seriously, this is a not to be missed series.

Still Cooking

img_4056.jpg

The women in my family — my Mom, my Sister and I all have the culinary gene. My sister and mom are both wonderful in the kitchen and we love cooking together. My sister and niece came to visit for the weekend and since I was worn out from working Friday and Saturday, they went to the store and picked up food for dinner both days and we shared in the preparation. What put a real smile on my face was seeing my sis pull out her camera to start snapping dinner in progress. The two of us were snapping away. I put my shots into a slideshow which you can view by clicking on the image below:

The menu consisted of my sister’s own recipe for Browned Chicken which we served with egg noodles and steamed green beans. Then I whipped up a classic fall dish of Baked Apples. The recipe for the apples is below and I will get her recipe for the chicken and post as soon as I hear back from her. It’s all simple food, but DEElicious! I just might recreate this menu sometime this week.

Baked Apples

img_4080.jpg

  • Tart Apple
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon chopped pecans or walnuts (or both)
  • Apple cider or juice to pour over top and leave 1/2 inch in the pan
  • Dash of cinnamon or apple pie spice

Core the apple being sure not to poke a hole in the bottom so that the apple juices do not leak out. put most of the chopped nuts in hollowed out core then add the butter and top with the brown sugar. Sprinkles the cinnamon or apple pie spice on top and pour on the apple cider/juice.

Bake in a 350° oven for 1 hour or until the apple begins to lose it’s shape and the juice and sugar begins to caramelize on the bottom of the pan. For a real treat, serve with a splash of heavy cream on top.

Short and Sweet

Rather than rambling on about nothing, tonight’s post will be a short one, but I wanted to check in and let you know that I will be back to my normal, or perhaps it’s not so normal verbose blogging tomorrow. I did notice the few times I looked in on the network that the viewer count remains startlingly low and wonder if it were not for iJustine, if Justin and the guys would continue to pursue this venture. She is the big draw. Dealer was out on the water again today and I went along for the ride for just a short while before heading out to work, but it was nice to be “out on the open sea” with the sun shining down on a beautiful day in southern California.

ECV left a comment on FaceBook saying he will be back as scheduled on November 1st and I think many are anxiously awaiting his return. I know I am.

JTV Viewer Halloween Parties

spooky.jpg

I did not get to poke my head in and check out any of the Halloween parties that were seen on JTV last night, but did manage to sneak away to check in on the one Spookygrl hosted out at Stickam. Spooks and Dizil were dressed up for the ocassion and looked Maaahvelous!  There was some Goth trivia going on, some Halloween-ish jokes and Spookygrl shared some bloodballs and other Halloween-inspired candy or drinks with us. I was not able to stay for long, but it looked like the few people that made it to the soiree were having fun.



5 Responses

  1. Hahah I didn’t think you took pictures LOL…. I am now infamous with a picture with fake blood on my face….. Nice post Justo

    Brian

  2. Yep Dizil,

    Justopia is always ready with Jing sitting off on the edge of her desktop, ready to capture a screenshot! I could not resist.

    Ok so … Do I run out and pick up my copy of Leopard this week? It’s my turn this time to ask … What do you think?

  3. Yes you should. Back up all your info first on an external drive. Or what ever you do just incase. It’s really nice leopard, and ichat is much better and spaces is cool, and time machine is awesome. You will need an external hard drive for it to work though, and it should be bigger than the hard drive in your macbook.

  4. omg! lol I just now saw this. Ewwww….maybe next year I can think of a better Halloween costume.
    Anyways. I truly believe dizil stole the show. He looked sooo scary! 🙂 I did had a lot of fun and I was so thrilled that you were able to join our little spooky party Justopia! **spooky hugs**

  5. Okay, I’ve been gone a few days, so I missed this. I hope you look this far back.

    I have been really craving a baked apple lately, and would like to put your recipe to use. What’s the best way to core the apple?

    TIA.

Leave a Reply

