Vacation Time!

Company’s Coming

img_4041.jpg

Lasagna with Bechamel Sauce, Olive Bread with Roasted Garlic and Olive Oil and Salad with Home Made Vinaigrette

Ok, so it’s not really going to be a vacation. I have company coming for the weekend and am working Friday, Saturday and Sunday so I won’t be broadcasting. I will probably pop in and out of the channels late at night, but I won’t be cooking on camera Friday or Saturday. I plan to cook on Sunday after work. Nothing extravagant, but I’ll figure out what I feel like and will post it in the schedule for you to see.

I think most people forget to scroll down to see the schedule, but you should try to remember since the times for my broadcast vary.

img_4036.jpg

So this will be a like a mini vacation for me. I don’t plan to blog either. Imagine that? It doesn’t happen often, but this will be a broadcast and blog free couple of days for Justopia/Justopia_live.

Channel Hopping

I looked for something to watch this morning and came across Arnaud midstream in a photo shoot. It looked really great. A couch in front of expansive floor to ceiling windows with a model standing effortlessly as he image was captured by Arnaud. It looked almost like a scene from a movie. All that was missing was music.

img_4037.jpg

But this was all I could find worth watching. I didn’t stay long. I decided that cleaning the house was more important than finding a channel I wanted to focus my attention on and that was how it was most of the day. I went out for little more than an hour and came back to more of the same so I gave up for a while and came back on to find an artist making cartoons. It was interesting to watch for a few moments, but I’d love to see the finished product of what I was watching, but laundry was calling.

img_4038.jpg

And that’s how the day went. Nothing special, nothing awful. It just was.

Lasagne

I made the lasagne tonight with a bechamel (white) sauce rather than using ricotta cheese. Bechamel is a smooth, thick sauce and many people use it in their lasagne.1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmegIn a medium saucepan, heat butter until melted. Add flour and stir until smooth. Over medium heat, cook until light golden brown, about 6 to 7 minutes.

  1. 5 tablespoons butter
  2. 4 tablespoons flour
  3. 3 cups milk
  4. 2 teaspoons salt
  5. 1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg

In a medium saucepan, heat butter until melted. Add flour and stir until smooth. Over medium heat, cook until light golden brown, about 6 to 7 minutes.Meanwhile, heat milk in separate pan until just about to boil. Add milk to butter mixture 1 cup at a time, whisking continuously until very smooth and bring to a boil. Cook 10 minutes and remove from heat. Season with salt and nutmeg and set aside.

I layer the lasagne as follows:

One thin layer of marinara or meat sauce, a layer of lasagne noodles, bechamel sauce and finally mozzarella. I would go no further than 4 layers or it will take far too long to bake. Everything here is cooked, so you are basically just heating up the lasagne. I grate fresh parmesan cheese on top before putting it on the table.

I’ve got to say it — it was DEEElicious! Try it yourself and impress your friends and family.

6 Responses

  1. This looks sooo good. Making my spooky mouth water. Hope you have a very nice weekend. Taking a break is always a good thing. 🙂 *spooky hugs*

  2. Hi Justopia,

    I haven’t been to your blog for a while, I have been busy writing to many papers and studying for exams… Today, however, I decided to jump in and take a look, since I was in your broadcast yesterday.

    Your day seems so relaxing, I actually felt relaxed reading it . 🙂 However, I cannot be stay calm for long, I am going to school for a bit after I write this comment 😦 .

    Your rendition of the lasagna I never had. It seems like a mixture of both French and Italian cuisine too me. However, the bechamel sauce seems good. Come to think of it the bechamel sauce might give a creamy lighter flavor to the lasagna’s meat sauce/marinara. Also you had vinaigrette too, on the salad I presume lol, and some roasted garlic… they are all good 🙂 . Vinaigrette to me seems a bit frenchie, but I know it can be anyone’s sauce since it is just a mixture of oils and vinegar (just babbling).

    Overall, I might recreate your meal, I want to see how it taste, it looks great, and I bet it is good to eat.

    Well, cya justopia when you come back in a few days…and off I go.

  3. I missed the ending of your show last night. The lasagna pictures really look scumptious!

  4. Spooks!

    It was soooo good! I wish everyone could be here for me to share it with you. DEEElicious! 🙂

  5. Hi Oddnumber!

    I am glad you stopped in. And yes, it is lighter with a bechamel sauce than heavy ricotta and egg. I started making it this way only a few months ago and really love it. I did make a vinaigrette which they do a great job of in Italy as well as in France. When I do a French vinaigrette I usually put a little dijon mustard in it. DEElisious!

    I hope you do well on your exams and get a chance to chill. I am working all weekend. Not something I’m used to.

  6. Hi Sumdance,

    At least there are archives and I’ve been putting up highlights each night as well.

    And … I took photos of our great dinner tonight too. The funniest thing was when my sister pulled out her camera. I had not gotten mine out yet. How funny is that?! 🙂 So we had dueling photos tonight! h hahahahaha!

Leave a Reply

