A Different Path Tonight

Troubleshooting and Writing

Buenos Aires Tulip Close up

Buenos Aires, Argentina — August, 2006

It’s 3:00am EDT and I am still awake.  I was out this evening and didn’t get a chance to tune into JTV before I began broadcasting, so I thought I’d take a look around after I finished.  I saw one interesting, but brief stream.  I believe it was called DaveTV.  He was in Southern California and I believe he referenced CBS2 which makes me think he is a reporter or anchor for the local CBS affiliate.  The winds were kicking up, he was in one of the yellow fire jackets that I saw other media people in when I tuned into the news this morning.  He was interviewing a local resident amidst the smoke and ash and heavy wind and then his stream went down.  He was on and off a few times before I gave up.  Someone mentioned the fires approaching a town one of my relatives lives in and it sent my heart up into my throat so I was hoping he would not crash again, but then he was gone.  I got in touch with that relative and everything is ok — just smoke and ash for now.  But this new channel has the makings of something great.  One of the types of channels I have hoped to see.  I am sure there are a number of factors for him to have had difficulties tonight, so I will just keep looking for DaveTV as the days go by.

Anyway, I was drawing a blank about what to write tonight and at about 2:00 a topic came to me, but I was also troubleshooting the problems I am having with my broadcast.  Each night when I attempt to launch I have problems.  It drives me to the edge each and every night.  I end up being grumpy and on edge and this flies in the face of considering lifecasting to be a fun experience, so I had to get some helpe and figure out what is going on.

It seems that my Mac is not up to the task.  It’s got plenty of memory and processing power and a great iSight camera built in, but it seems it just can’t hold up to the power needed to stream live video.  We tested a few things and the long and the short of it is — live with current quality or spend some money and get new equipment.  Now, in earlier times I would be placing an order right now.  But it’s just not in the cards until I land in a new job, so I guess it’s going to have to be less than acceptable quality for now.

And that means since I was busy troubleshooting and not writing that I am going to hold off on posting the real blog article tonight.  I have a great topic and I want to give it 100% of me.  I will post before I head out tomorrow afternoon at 3:30.

I think you’ll enjoy the topic.  In the meantime, I recommend you head to the archives and click back to May, scroll to the bottom of the page and click the Previous links until you get to the beginning of this Living the Justopian Life journey.  There are some great details about the “early” JTV days for those of you that weren’t around, and some nostalgic highlights for those of you that were to take a 2nd look at.

Be sure to check back after 3:30pm EDT for the next post.

One Response

  1. Love the tulip pic!

Leave a Reply

