When the Lights go Out in…the World? How Can We Network Socially Today?

Morning Has Broken

img_3802.jpg

Pork Chops with Onions and Apples, Smashed Potatoes with Garlic, Green Beans with Bacon and Slivered Almonds

I am reminded of songs this morning since I am unable to get into JTV. IRC is not working, the Site is not working, either by going to a specific channel or the default Justin.tv links. So with that, I’m on my 2nd episode of No Reservations watching my favorite traveling chef , Tony Bourdain with sparkling candor at every turn. A guy that is not afraid to try anything and writes wia familiar stream of consciousness that allows the reader to understand that what you are seeing is what it is. The show is produced, but we get to experience the good and the bad of his world travels and culinary events in a way most culinary shows don’t bring us in. I’d like to go along with Bourdain on just one of his escapades, one day, to a place I’ve had the opportunity to experience, but have not really had the chance to get into the down and dirty of the cities and provinces I’ve lived in. I tried to “go native,” but know in many cases I faled miserably with my expatriate privileges maids and drivers, security and 5 star living quarters, so before I can say I truly had the experience I need to experience some of it for real. I am convinced it will make me a better cook and an even more accepting global nomad. Tony, take me away! Please.

Kyle in a Dress of Many Colors

img_3804.jpg

While looking for something to do on the network this morning, I surfed over to the Justin.tv blog spot and stumbled upon the entries for the contest in which viewers were challenged to Photoshop a school girl’s dress on a photo of Kyle. I don’t know who is voting on the winning entry, or for that matter what the prize is, but there were many great entries. I am partial to the one in which the caption has a grammatical or typographical error in which we see Kyle looking longingly up and away at what I can only imagine is the school boy he has hoped to see at this party or sporting event he/she has come to with his cute friends. There is a feeling like Kyle is going to “get lucky” this night. Perhaps Yiou is sitting up in the stands?

Where Have all the Casters and Chatters Gone?

The site is still down hard at 10:18 am on a Saturday morning and I am still settled into Sao Paulo watching real people experiencing real life with Tony Bourdain — after a night of food, capricochos and the search for the meaning of life. It’s great stuff, but so totaly interactive and I have come to rely on the ability to express my thoughts, feelings and opinions instantaneously.

This total shutdown of JTV this morning, now that I am a lifecaster has me feeling at such a loss. I was planning on heading into the kitchen to cook breakfast for those Justopian_life viewers that have been asking for it, but that will have to wait for a better technical day. We will stick with dinner once again tonight.

closeup-city-palace-from-lake.jpg

City Palace, Udaipur, Rajasthan, India 2003

I’m feeling good, the steroids have given me the energy to conquer all and I am going to take on the request for pork chops that was made last night as I finished the Carrot soup, Chicken with Shallots and Wine, and Green Beans with Bacon and Slivered Almonds capped off by the infamous Incredible Brownies.

Hopefully the blindness that has taken over the site this morning will be cleared up so that we can all get online and back to our 2D friends.

A big thank you to Justin, Michael, Emmett, Kyle, Jacob and Phil for all your efforts this evening!

2 Responses

  1. I have just finished reading your whole 1st page of blog entries first, and I must say that I enjoy your blog as much as I enjoy your channel.

    I may broadcast in the future; with a twist. I want to talk about things that people deem taboo on JTV, i.e., current events, religion, politics, books, history, etc. As I scan the channels – I see mainly “superficial” chat and am looking for a channel I can go to to actually discuss things. I may have to be the first! You go girl! Your channel is great!

  2. Hi Cindy!

    Thank you for taking the time to read and to comment. It was great having you in the room last night as well. I’d love to see a channel that speaks to topical issues, especially with the election season really brewing up. I’ll bet things will get heated up in there mighty quickly. It will be interesting, for sure.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

