You’re Sorry? You Apologize?

NOTE: If you’d like to listen to an audio version of this post, please click the arrow below:

Messages

img_3656.JPG

I spent time this afternoon creating a slideshow to run while I was out this evening to make people aware of my schedule and plans for the broadcast and was met with this:

5:50 jtv: Attention please. The JTV chat system will be restarting in a few minutes to allow for routine maintenance. This is not a drill. Please say goodbye to your friends now. We appreciate your cooperation and hope you will chat here again soon. Thanks and good luck.

You know what? I’m sorry too, and I’m not sure how long I will accept your apologies. And furthermore, why do you assume I am cooperating? I’m quickly approaching the end of my rope. See, I don’t have a lot of patience. You may have noticed in the past 6 months that I have a short fuse and if I am going to spend my time and effort to put on a good broadcast and write a worthwhile blog, I can’t be subjected to frequent outages whether the outage happens with or without warning. And what is routine about pulling the service down in the middle of the day? If it was routine, wouldn’t you be able to let people know ahead of time of this outage? Routine suggests planning of some sort.

What I find almost comical about the JTV message pasted above is that it is like something you might see or hear if the apocalypse was about to ensue.

Inside of Tulip

Telling us it’s not a drill implies that we have seen this message so many times in the past that we might think JTV is crying wolf, when in fact, these messages are new to us and although intrusive and disruptive, better than no warning at all.

However, telling me to say goodbye to my friends implies that I am either going to be hit by a truck, or be met with some other tragic consequence and might never, ever come back to the land of JTV. But more confounding are the wishes of good luck. What does luck have to do with anything? Am I gambling? Do I stand to lose something if I can’t get back to JTV chat? Is this a matter of life or death, or worse yet, national security? Sometimes it feels like it. Sometimes, when the site is not behaving as I expect, it can feel apocalyptic.

So no. No need to apologize, just fix it. I’ll be waiting here — as patiently as I can.

One Response

  1. That is funny I saw the same message and thought it a bit peculiar too since it was the first time I have ever seen it.
    I am sure that the JTV team putting the words this is not a drill and good luck were meant to be humorous however all it really does is shows their immaturity when it comes to business and not taking all aspects of it seriously.
    Also stating that chat will be restarting in a few minutes means what? How many minutes 5, 50 , 500? Can we be a bit more specific?.
    Many places that I have frequented that have chat when they are shutting down chat for maintenance they post in the chat room that chat will be shut down in 5 minutes for maintenance. They also repost the same information every minute there after for those that come on after the initial warning so they will also be warned, let alone post stays up in the last minute with a timer count down. But of course that maintenance is done in the middle of the night during the week when the least amount of users will be affected.
    I support many facilities where we do maintenance and install patches. We schedule that work when it is best for that facility and that is in their down time or for our 24 our sites it is in the middle of the night when the shifts are smaller and work is ‘least impacted’. If we just willy nilly decided what time is the best for us and flipped the switch off all hell would break loose.
    Once again the JTV staff is showing their ‘no real world experience’ again (hiring a business consultant would help the boys with that learning curve).
    So with that said:
    Say goodbye to your little friend and good luck betting it all on lucky #23 🙂

Leave a Reply

