Anniversary is Coming Up and a Frozen Pizza! For Real

Memories

img_0019.jpg

With just 10 days before the one year anniversary of the JTV launch, I thought it was time to do a bit of looking back. Some of us have seen the evolution of a start up from afar from the very beginning, while others are new to Justin.tv. Many, so new, that they don’t even know who Justin Kan is, or iJustine for that matter. To those of us who have made JTV a part of our daily lives it’s almost incomprehensible that people would not know these names, would not understand the fun, frustration, laughs, and challenges with early day sputtering broadcasts we all witnessed as the founding four (a more appropriate and evolved term for fratboys) — Justin, Michael, Emmett, and Kyle, don’t you think?) focused on the technology to bring a seamless network of lifecasting to the world.

Since those early days after launch in March, 2007, the turnover in lifecasters, and viewers/chatters has been extensive, and most pronounced it seems, in recent months. So much so that I thought it would be helpful to reflect on the early days in a multi part series leading up to the anniversary party that the guys are hosting. We’ve been told that Justin is going to lifecast on that day. It’s been a very long time, so it should be interesting to see what a Justin lifecast in today’s JTV. A year ago it was a bit trying to follow and listen to — similar to yesterday when iJustine was broadcasting at SXSW in Austin.

Whether by design or default, Justin.tv has managed to create a community. It was a more cohesive, more familial community than what it is now, but if I had to place a bet, I’d say community is the glue that holds it all together. As more channels doing nothing more than rebroadcasting television make up the channel bar, I imagine the community will continue to become less prominent or important.

We’re 9 days away from the 1 year anniversary and I’d like it if you would would send me some of your favorite JTV memories. Feel free to leave them as comments here or mail them to me at justopia@justopia.com so that I can include them in the article and thanks in advance!

Recipe Found!

img_0020.jpg

I couldn’t lay my hands on the recipe I used for the crackers seen on the blog header and in the current Flickr widget photoset to the right but wanted to be sure you had it since they really were DEElicious. The recipe came from the Straight from the Farm blog and as you can see from the blog post under the link, the results were vastly different, but I recommend trying your hand at these. I think the trick to the light and fabulously crispy crackers I ended up with was that I rolled them to a translucent, paper thin consistency and then brushed them with extra virgin olive oil before putting them into the oven. As I mentioned in the blog post I wrote about them the other day, I did not weight most of them andthe puffy bubbles is very appealing to me. Let me know how it works for you if you do try them.

Where’s Justopia and What Have You Done With Her?!

pizza-box.jpg

I finally gave in tonight. I was tired and wasn’t very hungry for dinner and was not at all interested in putting together a full meal, so I pulled a couple of slices of pretty decent pizza out of the freezer. This is not bad stuff. It’s from a company in New York and while it’s not like real New York, or as I call it, Mafia pizza, it’s a pretty respectable alternative. I add sliced tomatoes, a little extra virgin olive oil and sometimes I’ll put pepperoni on there. If I have fresh basil then it’s a simple pizza Margharita hands down.

I had one dish to clean up and a glass for my soda. It was simple, good and low maintenance. You can’t beat it.

4 Responses

  1. Justopia:

    I hate frozen pizza that one would buy at a supermarche like Totinos, Tombstone, Digiornoes (sp?). No its not delivery, its crap. But I do love the frozen pizza’s at Trader Joe’s. They are made in Italia and actually taste good. I do the same as you sometimes. I’ll add some tomatoes and olives and onions. That pizza you purchased looks good. No shame in frozen pizza, as long as its not that crap at the grocery store.

  2. Hey pceasy,

    Well, admittedly the pizza was purchased at a supermarket — Harris Teeter — but it looks like a big part of their business is delivery. I think flyingpizzas.com’s only real problem is that they need you to do their graphic design work! You can get one 8 slice pie for $19.95 delivered (FedEx)! Sounds like a great deal to me. Callie88 was telling us that she can get one from her favorite pizza joint in St. Louis for $89, delivered hot! EEEk! Sounds to me like that restaurant is doing a little FTD kind of pizza delivery biz, working with local pizza restaurants. How else can they deliver hot?

    I will have to check out Trader Joe’s to try one of the frozen pies they sell. I just never remember that the store exists, and it’s less than a mile away. :)

  3. so many memories……can’t believe it has been a year of me ‘wasting time watching other people waste time’
    That was the best slogan they ever had :)

  4. Yep Peekers! It’s hard to believe it’s been a year. The saying Time flies when you’re having fun really fits! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

